The Sledgehammer – Version 2.0

June 4, 2008

The Obligatory Monthly Weather Complaint Post

Filed under: Random Stuff — Tags: — Brian Lutz @ 12:03 pm

If I’m reading the calendar correctly, it is now officially June here in the Pacific Northwest, Summer is just a couple of weeks away, and we’re supposed to be breaking out the shorts, sandals and the sunscreen by now.  So why is it that the temperature is barely making it into the fifties currently?  This was what the thermometer in my car showed on the way to work this morning:

That’s not even taking into account the heavy rain and the wind that has accompanied the past couple of days worth of this stuff (when I was at the old and moderately decrepit  KFC in Redmond last night, the roof had developed a rather aggressive leak as a result of the heavy rainfall, and water was pouring down into the seating area.  Needless to say, I ordered to go.) 

I suppose this would be a really lousy time to point out that back in December I was complaining about 45 degrees being too warm when the average temperatures were hovering just above freezing (link goes to a post on buzz.mn that I didn’t crosspost over here,) but still.  Last time I checked, at this time of year I usually shouldn’t need to wear a jacket just to get from one building to the other at work in June without freezing and/or getting drenched, and I should be using the air conditioning in my car far more than I should be using the seat heater (and yes, I am complaining about using stuff that I managed to survive just fine without for a decade of driving my old beater Camry.) 

Granted, we’ve had a few nice days scattered here and there, but for the most part things have been cloudy, cool and rainy for most of the spring, and the long-term predictions are calling for a cooler than average summer in the Puget Sound area as well.  I’m sure that by the time August rolls around I’ll probably find an excuse to complain that it’s too hot and hasn’t rained in weeks, but for the time being it would be nice if we could just get the weather in June to actually be June-like for a change.

The Shocking Blue Green Theme Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 255 other followers

