The Sledgehammer – Version 2.0

June 20, 2011

Photo Dump: Spring-Loaded Edition

Filed under: Photo Dump, Random Stuff — Brian Lutz @ 1:33 am

Don't like the weather? Wait a few seconds!

Officially, the end of Spring and the beginning of Summer is now just a couple of days away.  And given some of the weather we’ve had around here lately, I don’t think there are going to be a lot of people out there who will be sad to see it go.  Over the past several months, a number of weather-related records have been broken, mostly in the “Cold” and “Rainy” departments, and although the pattern that kept us cold and rainy for much of the Spring still seems to be in effect, the official start of Summer is now just a couple of days away (the “unofficial” start of Summer on July 5th is, of course, still a couple of weeks away.)  Although I don’t have a whole lot of stuff planned until late August and September, it should be an eventful Summer, with one of the expected highlights being the birth of my first niece in late August.  But with Summer still ahead, it’s time to do a little bit of quick Spring cleaning on the Blog, and to put up a photo dump post featuring some of the random stuff that’s accumulated on my phone’s camera over the past couple of months.  You’ll find these after the jump.

During a recent visit to Chang’s Mongolian Grill (one of my favorite lunch spots on the rare occasions I can get to one down in Renton or up in Everett,) I got this fortune cookie.  I’m assuming this is probably a good thing, because I know some people are getting sick of waiting for me to find one of these.  I’m not entirely sure whether or not I’m one of them, but still…

Every once in a while, product designers seem to just completely run out of ideas, and instead of trying to come up with new ones, they just go to the Internet and try to figure out what the latest fad is, make something to cater to that fad, and call it good.  This seems to be the inevitable result.  And judging from the government-mandated calorie counts on the menu board, the results aren’t pretty.

With sunshine seemingly in short supply this Spring, it has become pretty common to see people take any chance they can get to get in a bit of outdoor recreation.  I hate to say it, but something tells me these people probably aren’t going to catch anything here.

One of the nice things about the arrival of Summer is that it means the Fourth of July is just around the corner, and as you would expect, the stores are packed with…  Well, basically this stuff.  Which is pretty much the only thing that hasn’t been banned yet around here.  I understand there’s supposed to be a pretty decent Fourth of July celebration going on at Downtown Park, but as usual, I’m expecting to spend the Fourth down in Bonney Lake with the now standard truckload of fireworks.  Something tells me our party is going to take a little bit more kickin’ than this.

With Summer arriving, the Summer grilling season is now in full swing…  Or at least it would be if not for the fact that I had to get rid of my gas grill when I moved about a year ago, one of the concessions I have had to make to life in an Urban apartment.  For those of you out there who still have grills, I present to you the least important grilling accessory ever invented:  The Jim Beam Branding Iron.  Please note that use of this product in conjunction with the product being advertised may result in injury, assault charges, hospitalization, unsightly blemishes and/or overcooked meat.

If burgers are more your style, then now is the time to find everything you need to build a better burger.  Which nowadays seems to consist entirely of  roughly a truckload of cheap wine.  I guess they figure that if you drink enough of the stuff you probably won’t care too much about how your burgers turned out.  Or that unfortunate little incident with the branding iron, for that matter.

With Summer right around the corner, it’s also time for the stores to close out the remaining Spring stock to get ready for the Summer clothing (which, in turn, will probably be on closeout three weeks later to make room for the Fall lineup and the Back to School stuff, but that’s another story.)  It’s a time when some deals out there can look too good to be true.  This one, on the other hand, seems to have exactly the opposite problem.

It’s time for the furniture stores to do closeouts as well, but apparently they don’t want to discount things too much this time around (after all, this is the cutthroat world of furniture selling in the Purgatory of Furniture known as Tukwila we’re talking about here) so they’re having a 17% off sale.  20%, I’m assuming, would probably put the whole place over the edge.

A couple of weekends ago, I took what turned out to be one of the nicest weather days of the year, and promptly spent most of the day in a dark room playing video games.  As I did last year, once again I attended the Northwest Pinball and Gameroom Show being held at Seattle Center, with an even larger selection of games on offer than at last year’s show, including old favorites I haven’t had a chance to play in years.  Even though I had to get rid of the arcade cabinet I used to have back when I moved out of my old apartment (which was just about a year ago) I actually still have most of my arcade boards sitting in my closet, and at some point I’ve been meaning to put together some sort of Supergun setup  so I can actually play them again.  In the meantime, it’s probably a good thing I don’t have room for a pinball machine, because otherwise after the show I might have been seriously tempted to get myself one like I’ve been meaning to do for years now.  Anyway, I might elaborate on this a little bit more at some point, but in the meantime, you can find a recap I wrote from last year’s Pinball and Gameroom show here.

At some point in this Blog’s distant past, I had intended to create a series of posts entitled “Things that should have been proofread before they were put on a sign,” which would, of course, depict things that should have been proofread before someone put them on a sign.  I never seemed to find quite enough material to get this one off the ground though, which is surprising, because sometimes you’d be surprised what actually makes it onto a sign.  Take this one, located at one of the entrances to the Bravern parking garage.  You get the feeling someone took something just a bit too literally, but they were already over budget so they had to just use it.

And finally, just because I can, I’ll go ahead and end this one with a gratuitous dog picture, taken when I was dogsitting Imola and Minardi a couple of weekends ago.  Lately, it seems like rather then dogsitting for a week at a time, it’s been mostly taking care of them for a weekend or so on several occasions.  As they’ve gotten older their behavior seems to have improved, but one thing that they seem to have no interest in ever getting rid of is their barking habit.  These two really love to bark, and lately it seems like they’ll bark for pretty much any excuse they can get.  Can’t say I blame them though; everyone’s got to have a hobby, right?

OTHER SNARKY COMMENTS TO BE INSERTED HERE

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Shocking Blue Green Theme Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 255 other followers

