The Sledgehammer – Version 2.0

November 14, 2007

Insomnia? What insomnia?

Filed under: Moblogging, Wanderings — Brian Lutz @ 2:01 am

(Written partially from the local Denny’s at 11PM)

Anyone who knows me is probably well aware of the fact that I’m a bit of a night owl (It’s not that I’m not a morning person, it’s just that I happen to prefer a different part of the morning than most people so inclined.) Along with this comes the occasional tendency to look up at the clock, realize it’s 10PM and suddenly remember that I haven’t eaten anything of substance since breakfast. Usually this means looking through the cupboard and the fridge, realizing that anything which sounds , and heading out to find whatever happens to be open still.

The relative lack of decent places to eat late around here doesn’t help the situation any. Beyond the usual fast food joints and chains, about the only decent place to grab a bite around here after 9PM is the Burgermaster in Bellevue. It does tend to be a bit on the expensive side for a burger joint, but as a drive-in it does have the advantage of being pajama-friendly (although I’m not particularly inclined to actually try it, even if only a couple of carhops will see it) and open until Midnight on weekdays, 1AM on weekends.  On the other hand, if you don’t want a burger or fast food, you aren’t left with a lot of options. 

 It is in this situation that I find myself at Denny’s.  Even here, a reduced menu is served after 10pm, which leads to such austerities as a lack of mashed potatoes to accompany a Country Fried Steak.  If I ate one of the things more than once in a blue moon this would probably bug me, but my mother taught me to eat what is put in front of me, and besides, it’s either this or the drive-thru line at Taco Bell.  Judging from the number of people here, it seems like I’m not the only one.  Maybe someday I’ll learn to actually follow a normal schedul and have a few more dining options…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

