The Sledgehammer – Version 2.0

March 18, 2008

Catching Up a Bit

Filed under: Personal Stuff, Technology — Tags: , — Brian Lutz @ 1:43 am

 For the past few days, I’ve been fairly busy with all sorts of stuff, and haven’t really had time to post anything.  With that in mind, I’ll just catch up a bit on what’s been going on lately:

  • A good chunk of my weekend was spent on writing a talk for church on Sunday.  For those of you who may not be familiar with the LDS church, rather than having a minister to deliver a sermon, most of the speakers in our Sacrament meetings are members of the congregation who have been assigned to speak by a member of the Bishopric, and my turn to speak came up this week.  I can’t recall the last time that I actually did one of these, and I don’t necessarily consider public speaking to be one of my strong suits, but in spite of that I thought that the results turned out reasonably well.  This was in addition to the other duties I have at church which include making the weekly bulletin and teaching a class once a month, which just happened to be this Sunday as well.  I know that the Sabbath is supposed to be a day of rest, but sometimes it seems like I find myself doing more work on a Sunday than I do on any other day of the week.  I actually don’t mind doing all this stuff though.
  • Thanks to a bargain that I found over at woot.com a couple of weeks back, on Friday I finally made the switch from Comcast’s DVR box to a Tivo HD that I have been contemplating ever since Comcast switched the DVR interface from the MSTV software they were using (which was buggy as heck, but relatively easy to use) to their own stuff (which is somewhat less buggy, but just way too much of a pain to deal with.)  I have to say that I was actually surprised by how little hassle making the switch was.  A quick trip over to the local Comcast office to swap the DVR for a CableCard took less than ten minutes (the fact that I live only a couple of blocks from the office helped there) and a twenty-minute call to Comcast support got the CableCard activated, and I was up in about an hour total.  I’m still getting used to the Tivo interface (although it’s definitely easier to deal with than Comcast’s stuff) and I need to figure out why TivoToGo takes an hour and a half to transfer a half hour program and hogs the CPU on the desktop machine in the proces, but so far so good…  More on this later.
  • On Saturday evening, my Dad and my brother came over to my place to watch the opening race of the Formula 1 season from Australia.  We had planned to spend a bit of time playing Rock Band before the race began (no plans to quit my day job anytime soon,) and it was decided that it would be easier to just have people come to my place instead of having me haul all the Xbox stuff to my parents’ house for this.  Of course, this made it necessary to do a bit of last-minute panic cleaning so it doesn’t look like I’m a total slob when other people come over, but I’d been putting that off for a bit anyway, so it needed to be done.  As for the race, it turned out rather interesting, with significantly less cars finishing the race than started it.

More regular posts should resume shortly.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

