The Sledgehammer – Version 2.0

April 25, 2008

BeagleFest 2008: Schedule Conflicts

Filed under: Dogs — Tags: — Brian Lutz @ 10:33 am

The good news is that I actually managed to get some sleep last night.  Of course, not having to get up at 3:30 in the morning to drive to the airport probably didn’t hurt.  The bad news (for me, at least) is that the dogs don’t seem to be in sync with my somewhat later sleeping schedule just yet.  Those people who know me know that I’m a serious night owl, to the point that I tend to get to bed around 1AM on most nights.  My Mom,  (who usually takes the dogs out on their walks in the mornings) is a serious morning person, and tends to be up fairly early, which probably explains why the dogs were trying to get me to wake up at 6am this morning.  Even though I attended my chuich’s early morning Seminary classes for four years while I was in high school, these days I tend to regard 6am as a theoretical concept best left to the morning people.  Apparently Imola and Minardi have different ideas though,

Fortunately, by displaying just the right combination of thick-headedness and laziness I was able to finagle roughly another hour worth of sleep out of them before getting up for the morning dog park run.  Aside from an inexplicable barking frenzy from Imola near the beginning of this morning’s walk, it was pretty uneventful.  It was interesting to note that Minardi, who usually rushes to join the barking whenever Imola gets started, opted instead to just stick close to me and follow along while Imola barked her little head off in the distance.  Eventually she managed to get it out of her system though, and the rest of the walk proceeded without incident, although I put them on the leash a bit earlier than normal just to make sure there weren’t any problems at the exit.  My Mom was concerned that when they left for the cruise that Imola and Minardi would be stressed out for the first couple of days, but in spite of the picture you see above (actually taken before everyone left,) I don’t think they seem all that stressed at all.  I’d be expecting them to hang out at the front window a lot and wait for one of the pack leaders to come back.  The spent a bit of time hanging out at the window yesterday, but I think that was because the neighbors (and their dog) were out in the yard during the evening.  For the most part, they seem pretty calm and content to just do what they usually do (even if the pack leader happens to be a bit too lazy for their liking.)  Either way, they seem to be doing fine so far.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

