The Sledgehammer – Version 2.0

May 1, 2008

BeagleFest 2008: Living in the Doghouse

Filed under: Dogs, Uncategorized — Tags: — Brian Lutz @ 11:19 am

If my calculations are correct (and if someone at American Airlines manages to figure out how to get an airplane or two off the ground, I’ve got about three days worth of dogsitting remaining before my parents get home.   On one hand, I will definitely be glad when I’m done with this, and can go back to not waking up at 7am.  On the other hand, this whole thing hasn’t been nearly as difficult as I expected it to be.  The dogs have been surprisingly well behaved throughout the week (although a built-up immunity to dog slobber probably helps out some in that regard.)

In some ways, this whole thing is almost like a bit of a vacation, even though I’m only about a mile from home.  Sure, I’m still going to work like I normally do, and downtown Redmond is not exactly my idea of a sunny tropical destination, but every once in a while it is kind of nice to break out of the usual routine for a bit and have an excuse to get outside more often than I normally do.  For the most part, I’ve had to limit my technology use to the portable stuff (most of my blogging this week has been on my notebook.)  Even though I can go home pretty much whenever I want, I haven’t spent more than a couple of hours there at a time, and that was really only because I needed to do laundry.

In order to entertain myself, I’ve had to resort to something that I haven’t done much of lately:  Watch television.  When I’m at home, I normally don’t watch a whole lot of TV, and what little TV I do watch is the stuff that’s recorded on my DVR.  Not having that luxury available to me, and having Imola just wanting to sit on my lap and take a nice little nap means that I have done a lot more channel surfing than I normally do as well.  Apparently I’m not missing much these days, but what else are you going to do when you’re sitting on the comfy chair in the living room with a contented dog napping on your lap?  I get the impression that there’s some basketball and hockey playoffs going on, but beyond that I don’t think I’m exactly making any new discoveries in my TV viewing habits.

It’s not exactly a tropical vacation, but in its own way, it’s kind of a nice break from what I’d normally be doing, which is sitting on the computer all night.  On the other hand, I’m thinking that sunny tropical vacation is starting to sound pretty nice around now…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

