The Sledgehammer – Version 2.0

June 6, 2008

Sledgehammer 2.0 Turns 1.0 Today

Filed under: Personal Stuff — Brian Lutz @ 1:00 am

This week marks several personal milestones for me.  First of all, it was a year ago today that I started this Blog, my third attempt at writing on the Internet, and by far the most successful of the three.  As I had briefly outlined in the first post that I made here a year ago, I had originally intended this site to be something of a revival of my original 1996-1998 website, which is now forever entombed in the fossil records of the Internet, typos and all.  In the year that has elapsed since I began writing this Blog, it has already received far more hits than my original site ever did in the two years that it was actively maintained.  A lot of this has to do with the fact that there’s a lot more people on the Internet now than there were back in 1997, and sites like this tend to be a lot more discoverable now then they were back then.  In those days, most of the traffic that my site received came from a link on Yahoo (which consisted primatily of a manually generated catalog of Internet sites back in those days.  Here is the archived copy of the page the link to my site was located on, to give an example of what this looked like.)  All in all, I think I managed somewhere around 10,000 vsitors or so on the site within a period of two years. 

The most notable spike in traffic on that site came from my site getting a plug in Computerworldmagazine, a weekly IT publication where a writer inexplicably declared it to be one of the best IT websites of 1996 (apparently the bar hadn’t been set too high at the time.)  This link was good for about 200 hits or so.  The site also eventually got a plug on the back page of an issue of NetGuide magazine (a long defunct Internet for dummies type publication) good for another 50 hits or so.  Eventually, the whole thing just got to be too much of a pain to maintain, and I lost interest.  The site lingered on the Internet for a couple more years before my ISP at the time finally deleted it from their servers, but not before it got archived.  As I have noted before, there is a link to it on the right side of the page, but I would kindly ask that any English teachers who might happen to read it please refrain from grading and/or spellchecking it.

Fast forward to now, where this quasi-reincarnation of the site has now been on the Internet for a year.  This site has turned out to be nothing like I had intended it to be, but so far I happen to be quite happy with the way that it has turned out, as long as I don’t go digging too deeply into the archives.  I find that I tend to be my own worst critic when I go back and read some of this stuff, to the point that I can barely stand to read some of the stuff I wrote back on my original site.  To provide a bit of a picture of how this Blog has developed since I started it a year ago, here are a few statistics, which I am posting here mostly for future reference and comparison as I continue to write here.  Some of these are averaged for the whole year, so for comparison I’ll include the most recent figures to provide a better picture of what the site’s traffic looks like currently: 

  • Total Posts: 168 (including this one)
  • Total hits (as of the time this is written): 20,815
  • Average hits per day: 57 (Yesterday: 127)
  • Average hits per week: 400 (Last Week: 843, although that reflects higher than average traffic.  An average week seems to be somewhere between 550 and 600 right now)
  • Average hits per month: 1,734 (Last month: 2,885)
  • Most hits in one day: 444 (April 14, 2008, when a post was linked by kotaku.com)

Most popular posts (Total hits):

Retail Wasteland – A Tour of the Totem Lake Mall 3,399
Classical Gas – Abandoned Route 66 Gas Stations 1,687
Malls of the Seattle Area: A Tour of the Factoria Mall 1,417
The Photocopier of Judgment 449
It’s ugly, but it gets you there 398
Totem Lake Mall Research Update – A Map of the Lower Mall from 1973 390
Factoria Mall Just Keeps Getting Emptier 384
Things You Didn’t Know Existed Here – Part 1 383
Italian Plumber Plans to Build New House in Redmond 365
Looks Like the Show is Over at Redmond Town Center… Or Is it? 358

At this time, I would like to  thank everyone who visits this site for your support and the informaton that you have provided for my research into the local malls and other local history.  It’s good to know that I’m not the only person out there who is interested in this stuff.  I hope that some of the stuff I have planned as I continue with my various projects continues to be interesting to those of you who are reading this site.

Anyway, the second, and slightly more important milestone that I will be observing this week is my thirtieth birthday, which will take place this Sunday.  I’m still trying to figure out what exactly you’re supposed to do for a semi-sorta-halfway-to-mid-life crisis (is that the one where you’re suppose to rent a Porsche?) so I’ll probably do another post on that one later. 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

