The Sledgehammer – Version 2.0

July 7, 2008

Crossroads Research Update: Some questions, and a Look at the Mighty MB

Filed under: Bellevue, Malls — Tags: — Brian Lutz @ 1:04 am

(Crossroads Shopping Center logo, 1963.  The “Globe” portion of the logo was in use at least until the late Seventies.)

First of all, thanks to everyone for their comments on my original Crossroads Mall post, as well as some comments on Crossroads that have leaked into some of my other mall posts.  They have been helpful as I try to dig into some of the history of this mall.  So far, I haven’t found a whole lot on my own, but I have been able to determine the following:

  • The Crossroads Shopping Center originally opened in early December of 1963, although only a small portion of the mall and the current Michaels store was completed at the time (more on this below.)
  • At the time the mall opened, there were only 11 stores (which was reasonable given the small space) and more came later as further construction was completed, although I have not yet found anything on when the rest of the mall was built.  If you look on the side of the building above the outside entrance of the Silver Platters store you can see “1967” which would presumably indicate when that section of the building was completed.
  • The Ernst store was located where the Circuit City is now, although I haven’t determined a timeframe for when it was around.
  • The original Crossroads Twim theater was apparently located where the QFC store is found now.
  • There was an ice rink at Crossroads for a number of years (I have found references to it in newspapers from 1972.)
  • In its declining years, Crossroads became something of a teen hangout, and attracted troublemakers.  The medians in the parking lot were installed by Terranomics shortly after they took over the mall to dissuade cruising.

Of course, I have a lot more questions than I have answers at this point, so here are some of the things I would like to know:

  • Where exactly was the Marketime/Fred Meyer store?  I would assume that the former became the latter when they merged in the Seventies.  I have actually seen ads from the 1977 Journal American that showed both the Crossroads and the (current) Overlake Fred Meyer stores operating at the same time, but I’d guess they closed the Crossroads soon after that due to the redundancy.  Some of the comments here put this in the current Bartell Drugs location, but given the fact that Bartell Drugs has moved relatively recently, does this mean the now former Bartell location inside Crossroads itself that is now Shoe Pavilion, or the one kitty-corner from the mall where the Albertsons used to be?
  • How long was the Market Basket store around for?  It was there when the mall opened (it turns out there were only about 11 stores at the time, and only the area where the Michaels and the Old Navy/Bed Bath and Beyond stores currently reside were completed originally, with the rest coming later.) 
  • Where was the ice rink, and how long did it operate for?

Speaking of Market Basket, aside from what’s in the papers (mostly ads) I’m drawing a blank on this one.  Searching on Wikipedia shows a couple of unrelated current chains in Texas and New England with the name, but little on this iteration.  By any chance, could this be related to the former California based chain of the same name that lasted until some time in the Eighties (which later became owned by Kroger)?    I seem to recall seeing something somewhere that indicated that they were actually an offshoot of Marketime, but I can’t determine where I might have seen that.  Whatever the story is here, it looks like this particular chain was gone fron this area by about 1970 or so,.  Can anyone fill in some of the blanks here? In the meantime, here’s some stuff I found in the paper on Market Basket (Also known as “Mighty MB” from the Crossroads opening in 1963:

A drawing of the new Market Basket store, from the Bellevue American, December 5, 1963.

A photo of the new Market Basket store and the newly opened Crossroads Shopping Center, from the BA, December 12, 1963.

And for comparison, a photo of the Michaels store that resides here today.  You can still vaguely see where the old MB storefront was located, but virtually any signs of the store that used to be here have been long since remodeled into oblivion.

Incidentally, I love this logo, which was used in a number of different variants throughout their ads.  Sure, they might have been ripping off the A&P logo to some extent (and yes, there were actually A&P stores in the area at the time,) but for something done in simple line art, this is surprisingly effective, and just has an elegance to it that you don’t see anymore.

As usual, anything that people can contribute to help fill in the blanks on my research would be greatly appreciated.  In the meantime, I will be putting together part 2 of my Crossroads profile covering the stores and the restaurants sometime within the next week or two.

31 Comments »

  1. I’m Not sure about Fred Meyer, but according to my 1971 Bellevue Directory, There was a Mayfair Grocery Store and a Marketime Drugstore in separate spaces in the Mall at that time. If You can find out the mall’s old address system, the grocery was listed at 4 and the Drugstore was at 1. That’s all they gave me. Other stores I found from this time are:
    Crossroads Nutrition (A Health food Store.)
    Ernst Hardware (Store # 17)
    Char’s Maternity Apparel (7)
    Flair Sportswear
    The Leg Room [clothing] (1)
    Sughroue’s Carusel Casuals
    Towne & Country Apparel (5)
    Gordon Michael Beauty Salon (4)
    The Fox Restaurant (2)
    P. W. ‘s Ice Cream & Food Parlour
    Crossroads Gallenkamp Inc. [Shoes] (8)
    Tivy’s Jewelers (1)

    Comment by Colin H. — July 11, 2008 @ 5:27 pm

  2. Marketime was a Seattle based super drug store chain. Market Basket was a Renton based supermarket chain. Fred Meyer purchased both chains around 1959 to establish a beachhead in the Seattle area market.

    If I remember correctly, Fred Meyer had sold the Market Basket stores to Mayfair, a company that was part of Arden Dairies, by the late 1960s. Fred Meyer built its first Seattle area one-stop shopping center in Lynnwood in 1968. It may have been around this time that the Marketime stores were rebranded as Fred Meyer Marketime.

    The Marketime store at Crossroads was located on the SW corner of the mall in the space that later became Bartell’s and is now the Shoe Pavilion. The ice skating rink was located in the center of the mall. I also remember a store at Crossroads that had a large slot car race track back when slot cars were popular in the mid-late 1960s.

    Comment by Mark Bozanich — July 13, 2008 @ 12:01 pm

  3. Hey there,

    I wasn’t around in Bellevue during the ice rink years, but I was very much there in the early to mid 80’s and for most of the 90’s. My dad had a law office (1985-1988) on the corner where the Blockbuster Video is now, and I practically grew up at Showbiz Pizza Parlor in the corner of the mall (which I believe is now a party store.) I probably spent 2-3 hours at the Showbiz video arcade every day after school in the mid 80’s.

    There used to be another grocery store on that MB location in the late 80’s. Was it Big Bear or something like that? This is before it became a Michael’s. The only thing I remember about that store was that you could take plastic 2-liter bottles into the soda dispensing fountain and fill a 2-liter with any flavor you wanted for like $1. It was the first time I had ever seen that in a store.

    And yes the old Crossroads Theater was located directly on the spot where the Barnes and Noble/QFC are now. It was a horrible theater. I remember seeing the re-release of Song of the South there in 1987? or so, and there were seats that had been visibly ripped out of their moorings. In ten years of going to Crossroads Theater, I don’t think I ever saw a movie that had more than 100 people in the audience. People used to go to Factoria or Overlake or John Danz instead. When they closed that theater and opened the new one in the back, it was the happiest day of my life.

    Keep up the good work. I am really enjoying these!

    Comment by Mario Lanza — August 11, 2008 @ 10:38 am

  4. Yea, I remember Fred Meyer being on the SW corner of the main building. They moved to their current location around 1981-82 if remember correctly.

    I also remember when the first built the building where Fred Meyer is currently loacated. The facility started out life as a Valu-Mart store, which had previously been located where the current Safeway store is on 140th Ave. NE & Bel-Red Rd. The Valu-Mart store was converted into a White Front store in the early 70’s if I remember correctly. That was a real loser of an operation, sold nothing but cheap junk. I don’t remember how long that store endured or if there was another business in that facility between White Front and Fred Meyer.

    Comment by Mark A — August 25, 2008 @ 3:25 pm

  5. Mark A:

    The White Front store actually came up in the comments on the Everett Mall post (see This comment for more info,) as it turns out the Bon Marche-Macy’s store at the Everett Mall got its start at a White Front as well. According to the info I have (I’ve been meaning to get to the library and check out the newspapers to get the dates straight) there was a Valu-Mart store somewhere in Bellevue as early as 1962, and the White Front store in Bellevue (one of several in the area) opened in 1969, and was gone by 1972. The former White Front store became Valu-Mart, then was renamed to Leslies, which by 1976 was bought out and replaced by Fred Meyer, which is there now. Figuring out the whole White Front / ValuMart / Fred Meyer bit (with Marketime tossed in there for good measure) is on my to-do list.

    Comment by Brian Lutz — August 25, 2008 @ 3:35 pm

  6. Strange coincidences (although I guess we’re all linked by nostalgia)… I went to school with one of the aforementioned posters and as such remember the mall from the 80s as well. The cinema wasn’t *quite* where the Barnes and Noble is. That area was a little strip mall of its own, which included the recently departed furniture store and a New York Bagel Boys that I worked at for around 6 months back in 1993. I used to bake the bagels and then go to college. Nobody would sit next to me because I smelled so strongly of bagel toppings. Those were… well, the days did last 24 hours, same as now.

    The current site of the theatre was a vacant lot where a carnival would come in every year. I remember thinking it was really awesome but in retrospect it was, well, a travelling carnival. IIRC it relocated to the K-Mart parking lot to the south for several years after the new cinema opened.

    The Sports Authority and adjoining parking lot used to be the home to a number of private dental/pediatrician’s offices (at least I think one of them was a pediatrician’s office; I vaguely recall going there when I was a kid) and a barber shop. Next to the cinema for a while at least was a Schwinn bike shop. As mentioned in another post, there were three little restaurants where the WaMu and the police outlet office are now: Gulliver’s Hamburgers, the Yangzste Inn, and a second Chinese restaurant right between the two that must have been a cheap place to eat because I distinctly recall going there on more than one occasion (my family was poor and cheap growing up). That all got razed some time in the mid 80s.

    Gulliver’s relocated to Eastgate for a while and then died. By the way, the Eastgate strip mall would be an interesting place to look at. I work right down the road from where the Bellevue Airfield used to be; unfortunately, the last bits of concrete were recently torn up by Boeing, who are building more offices. The little strip mall itself is a hollow shell of what it used to be; ISTR being able to go inside that mall and encountering shops therein. However, there are still vestiges of what it used to be, and of the airfield as well (several light poles are colored red and white so that planes could see them).

    Back to Crossroads… The Key Bank to the north of that little strip used to be a Burgermaster, which explains the drive-in stalls in the back. Before the owner said “screw it” and converted it to monetary use, there were a string of ill-fated restaurants that built up there, including one that made its own potato chips (don’t ask me why I remember that). To the north of *that*, the Mexican restaurant there used to be a Pizza Hut, which is pretty obvious when you look at the building. Finally, the last clump of shops before you reach the Planned Parenthood building housed a fish store, a donut shop, and a Baskin-Robbins. The B&R is still there, I think. What about the donut shop? That was a “Westernco Donut” when I worked at the Kinko’s across the street in 1997. I *think* there was one other store in that block but I’m not sure.

    One other thing to note is that the Top Food and Drug, which isn’t really a part of the mall but is right next to it, was a bunch of baseball and soccer fields owned by the Parks Department and the Harris-Conley Driving Range right next to it. I remember that golf balls used to land on the parks all the time despite a net that extended 40 or 50 feet into the air around the range. I played on a few youth soccer and softball teams on those fields and the coaches were always freaking out about the possibility of one of the kids getting beaned by a golf ball during practice.

    While I don’t even begin to remember the skating rink or the Fred Meyer’s, I do remember the logo, which I think had use even into the early 1980s on the big mural that now shows the movie times. The suite of shops just south of where Michael’s is now was a do it yourself car wash. The Beverage King that’s across the street from it has been there for years and years.

    That was probably more info than you need, but I have a bad case of insomnia and now I can sleep. Thanks.

    Comment by John Craven — October 30, 2008 @ 1:40 am

  7. John:

    Thanks for your comments. There’s a lot of stuff here I didn’t know. A few comments on this:

    The Funtastic carnival still comes to the former KMart parking lot every year, even though the KMart has been closed and vacant since 1999. There has been talk of tearing down the old KMart and putting up a Costco in its place, but apparently that project has stalled (as has a proposed Costco in Redmond on Union Hill Road.)

    I believe I’ve seen adds for Gulliver’s, and ate there at least once in its Eastgate location before it closed (there’s now an Indian restaurant there.) Finding out more on Sunset Village is a place that’s been on my “to-do” list for a while now. The Safeway and a couple of adjoining spaces there were turned into Michael’s Toyota a few years ago, and the Deseret Book (LDS church bookstore) moved to a different spot. The barber shop is still there though, and the Lil Jon Restaurant is still going strong after 41 years.

    Oddly enough, I had never really paid any attention to the KeyBank, but now that I look at it, it does make sense that a drive-in was there. The Burgermaster next to 520 on Northrup is still around, and I will stop in for dinner on occasion (they seem to be one of the few places open past 10pm around here.) Westernco Donut and Baskin-Robbins are still there as well (I think the aquarium shop got replaced by a Subway though. It was pretty obvious that the Mexican restaurant was formerly a Pizza Hut by the design (even though the roof got changed,) but this confirms it. I would assume that the driving range you are talking about is what got turned into the Crossroads Par 3 course?

    Thanks again for your comments,
    -Brian

    Comment by Brian Lutz — October 30, 2008 @ 9:49 am

  8. Actually, the driving range made up half of what is now the Top Foods parking lot. Think of it cut lengthwise into two long strips. The half next to the mall was ballfields, the other half was the driving range.

    Other, less mall-ish stuff about that area… next to the community center and across the street from the mall that plateau used to be the place to tobogganing when we got a good snow. IIRC somebody always got hurt when this happened, which was really part of the allure. Who wants to toboggan down some wussy namby-pamby hill that’s all gentle and sloping (I am talk to YOU, Unigard!)? Not me!

    FWIW I have a MySpace page up where I posted a bunch of pix of Crossroads a couple years ago. I took them all from my (non-i)phone, so they’re probably passable at best, but there are a couple of weird little things you might want to take a look at like the door to nowhere in the back of the Michael’s building.

    A possible future combination kinda thing if Sunset Village doesn’t add up to a blog post all by itself is that area around the former K-Mart. There’s still a Starbuck’s there (which isn’t saying much, I will grant you) but one thing I definitely do remember is that way back when there was an Iron Horse restaurant in that little strip mall that’s kitty-corner to it. Yes, the same Iron Horse that was down the road from the Kingdome for so many years that delivered your burgers and fries to your table by means of model trains.

    A couple other things that may help but will probably not:

    – I am told that Bill and Melinda Gates used to go on dates to the food court. I never saw them there but my brother said he did. Classy, Bill! Classy!

    – More places that used to be there but aren’t anymore… there was a produce market right when they launched the Pike Place Market East campaign but it didn’t last that long. Also, way back in the day (late 70s, early 80s) there was a place called “Willy Woozle” where the shoe repair shop is now. It was basically a knock-off of Orange Julius and I remember thinking as a kid that this was pretty much the perfect way to sum up the difference between downtown Bellevue and Bell Square and Crossroads/Crossroads Mall. Finally, right next to the entrance near Michael’s there was a deli called the Bean Pod, which was something of a franchise operation since they had another one in Factoria Square (where the Red Robin is now). They gave you a little cup of kidney beans with every order.

    – Okay, one more defunct place you’ve *got* to talk about: the Norm Johnson Sports Card shop, located where the little art and frame gallery is now. There was all kinds of sports-related paraphernalia to gawk at including Bill Walton’s shoes and a bunch of Norm Johnson’s uniforms (Norm was the kicker for the Seahawks during much of the 1980s, but you probably already know that). I think it finally went out of business when Norm relocated and shortly after that gigantic baseball card boom went bust (although I talked to one of the co-owners at a party several years later and he insisted that they were still running just fine after the bubble burst).

    Comment by John Craven — October 30, 2008 @ 6:55 pm

  9. I just remembered…

    It wasn’t an ice skating rink. That was throwing me off. I don’t think you ever said this either, but for some reason I had that in my head. The *roller* skating rink near Crossroads Mall existed on 164th between the 7-11 off of 8th and the Landmark apartment complex (formerly known as Crossroads Village). I don’t actually ever remember it being open during the time we lived there, but for years it sat there as a boarded up building with some super-great 1970s era blue and yellow racing stripes all around it and a picture of a roller skate. I think it finally got torn down when Youth Eastside Services started putting their building up in that area.

    I don’t know if that quite qualifies as Crossroads Mall, but that’s definitely where the skating rink was.

    Comment by John Craven — October 30, 2008 @ 7:38 pm

  10. I just remembered…

    It wasn’t an ice skating rink. That was throwing me off. I don’t think you ever said this either, but for some reason I had that in my head. The *roller* skating rink near Crossroads Mall existed on 164th between the 7-11 off of 8th and the Landmark apartment complex (formerly known as Crossroads Village). I don’t actually ever remember it being open during the time we lived there, but for years it sat there as a boarded up building with some super-great 1970s era blue and yellow racing stripes all around it and a picture of a roller skate. I think it finally got torn down when Youth Eastside Services started putting their building up in that area.

    I don’t know if that quite qualifies as Crossroads Mall, but that’s definitely where the skating rink was.

    Comment by John Craven — October 30, 2008 @ 7:40 pm

  11. So the roller rink would be found roughly where the water playground portion of Crossroads Park is found today, correct? Take a look at this (I believe the 1968 option would show it) and see if it rings a bell:

    Crossroads Park – Historic Aerials

    Comment by Brian Lutz — October 31, 2008 @ 4:20 pm

  12. Okay, so I *think* that I can pinpoint this, looking at the 1980 version of the aerial map you have (which, by the way, is now the 2nd coolest website on the Interwebs after yours). It’s a little bit off from where I remember but not too bad. The storage place is there in the center of the map; it’s the place with the long buildings. To the south of that on the east end is a vacant lot with a road running through it. Right to the south of that is a white building. I’m almost positive that’s the skating rink. My family lived at the Landmark for years and I distinctly remember seeing the abandoned skating rink on the bus to school (Stephenson Elementary, which is way up on 8th just short of the Walgreen’s; why we went there and not Ardmore, I have no idea). The route was down 164th to 8th and then west to the school.

    So yeah… it’s back behind the 7-11 and the vet rather than between it and the storage place, but otherwise yes.

    By the by, if you go to the ’80 map and pan over to 156th and up to where the Top Food is now, you’ll see the driving range and the ballfields. The driving range is the darker colored area.

    Comment by John Craven — October 31, 2008 @ 6:48 pm

    • Yes it was an ice rink. I was 6 years old at the time and I was a skunk in the ice show!

      Comment by John Hermsen — December 5, 2011 @ 1:41 am

  13. Are you sure that this wasn’t an ice skating rink? Digging through some of my research stuff, I came across this, which I found in a 1973 East Side Journal:

    Ice Crystals This Weekend at Crossroads Ice Pavilion

    I’ll have to make a note to go back and try to dig the article up again, but this would definitely seem to indicate that there was an ice skating rink at Crossroads. Is it possible that it was a different location?

    Comment by Brian Lutz — November 9, 2008 @ 7:30 pm

  14. FWIW, what is now known as the Crossroads area took its name from the mall, not the other way ’round. In the 60s that area was still called Lake Hills… hence the Lake Hills Roller Rink which was located a block or two up 8th street, at about 162nd.

    the ice skating rink was in the center of the shopping center buildings, and on its own; when it closed, the Rhodes/Lamonts/JoAnns building was built.

    On the south side of the mall was the Marketime, later Fred Meyer, a bank, dry cleaner and candy store (which also sold some home made candy) and the Market Basket grocery (where Michael’s now is) On the back side of those buildings (facing the rink) were a few smaller sores, including a music store, where one bought the plastic flutes required for 4th grade music class.

    Comment by M Burton — January 6, 2009 @ 10:44 am

  15. This is correct. The ice skating rink was in the center of the mall, the roller rink was blocks east of the mall. The whole area East of the mall was forest, all the way to 164th when the mall was built. The roller rink is where the high school dances in the ’60 and 70s were held on Friday nights. There was a music store at the mall back of the mall by the ice rink and I remember that one of the members of Paul Revere and the Raiders band worked there. They frequently performed at the roller rink as did Merrily Rush and the Turnabouts. You may have to visit the EMP to learn about them…

    The Value Mart then White Front then Fred Meyer was and still is located in the Overlake shopping center.

    Comment by David Burton — January 6, 2009 @ 4:42 pm

    • Sounds like it’s time to put together another update on this one. There are a number of things I have managed to find from the newspapers, but there are still questions to answer: Specifically, if the ice rink was replaced by the Rhodes/Lamonts store, was there another ice rink built later on? As far as I know, the Rhodes store was opened in 1964 (and I have found ads for the store and a photo that sort of shows the building from 1967,) but I have seen ads for the Crossroads Ice Pavilion all the way up to 1973 (that I have found so far)

      Also, can anyone tell me about the cluster of fast food restaurants (Herfy’s Burgers, Hannah’s Pie Shoppe, Senor Taco, Alfie’s Fish and Chips and Kentucky Fried Chicken) that opened early in 1971 to the north of the mall? How long did these last? If I’m reading the HistoricAerials maps correctly, the land these were on got taken over and became the building next to Sports Authority (the one with WaMu, the salon/spa and the police substation) sometime in the early Nineties.

      Comment by Brian Lutz — January 6, 2009 @ 5:18 pm

  16. Nice site I have lived in the lake Hills area my whole life The crossroads Ice Arena was in the spot that the linen and things would be now, and was going strong till 77 or so The Rhodes/Lamonts store never shared the same spot. The grocery store was a Market Basket a Mayfair a Lucky grocery a big bear and a market foods. I remember the Leg Room cool swabies and Levis and the biggest pair of jeans I ever saw on the wall. But what about some of the other long gone things. There was a Union 76 station and some self serve car wash booths about where the strip mall with UPS is now. What about Penny Lane records a record store as well as a head shop, remember when they were legal in town. How about Pietro’s pizza? or Cindys restaurant where the Key bank by Pizza hut building is now, then it was a Burgermaster for a short time hence the drive up parking. The little group of restaurants Herfy KFC remember the Yanchtze retaurant too all gone by mid 80s. What about the portside tavern where from russia with love is now, next to my favorite sporting goods store Sportsland another long gone store Big 5 could never be as cool.

    Comment by Dave Unwin — March 23, 2009 @ 1:46 pm

    • I knew that the Key Bank was a Burgermaster at some point, but I was not aware that it was something else before Burgermaster. As for the cluster of fast food restaurants, see this post for a bit more on those.

      Comment by Brian Lutz — March 23, 2009 @ 2:05 pm

    • Yes, the Portside. The 2 owners always kept a Navy “BlueJacket” manual behind the bar. As a former Marine, it was always an “inside-joke”, As I remember, they both lived on Mercer Island.
      My X, used to be a McDonalds mngr there.

      Comment by Mark Jay — September 25, 2011 @ 5:34 pm

    • You’re right about the Crossroads Ice Rink and its location at what would now be about center mall…. My family moved to the Bellevue area in 1963/1964 as my father, Hans Johnsen purchased the rink and was the skating pro until just before his death in 1971. The ice rink remained for several years after that, owned by my uncle, John Johnsen.

      Comment by Anne Johnsen Asbury — April 23, 2013 @ 12:11 am

  17. I’d Like to know why the burgermaster ever closed. It’s such a good location. Have you done any research on the Dick’s [drive in] that used to be in downtown Bellevue?

    Comment by Colin — March 23, 2009 @ 5:45 pm

    • I haven’t really found much of anything on the former Dick’s location in Bellevue, although an older version of their website had a picture of a billboard that said it was “across from the post office” (which I assume would mean roughly at the corner of Bellevue Way and NE 12th.) Nothing that looks right for a place like Dick’s is showing up on HistoricAerials at that location though. I guess I don’t quite know what I’m looking for, or even what timeframe I’m looking at (the lack of anything between 1968 and 1980 is a bit of a pain when dealing with the historic maps.)

      If anyone can fill in anything on that, I’d be interested to find out more.

      Comment by Brian Lutz — March 24, 2009 @ 12:29 am

      • The Dicks in Bellevue was across the post office where the Tony Romas ribs was they tore the building down and the spot was blank for a while there are pictures of it in the Dick’s 50th aniversiry book you sometimes find at old bookstores.
        Had it surrvived the 70s or 80’s it would be a sure goldmine today
        Before Dick’s the hangout spot for Bellevue Kids was the DQ on 112th and 8th

        Comment by Dave Unwin — April 21, 2009 @ 9:41 am

  18. I grew up in the crossroads area, starting in 1966. Lived east of Lake Hills Roller rink.
    A couple of things I would like to add.
    Where the Key Bank is now, the building was originally built as Burgers West. (hence the covered parking.) I believe that was in 1968. Then it bacame Cindy’s Restaurant and so on.

    Dicks was on the CORNER of NE 12th and Bellevue Way. (back then Bellevue way was 104th AVE NE)
    I spent many a night there in my blue 1967 Shelby GT-500.
    The back (east) of Dicks was above what was a car dealership.(the last one being Cadillac)
    The Dicks parking lot was fairly large.
    The original Valu-mart (where I once worked) was where the Safeway store on 140th Ave NE and Bel-Red Road.
    In 1973 it moved to the empty White Front store which is now Fred Meyer.
    In 1975-ish, Valu-Mart changed its name to Leslie’s. It got it’s name from Leslie Rosenberg who, at the time was president of Wiesfield’s corporation. Wiesfields did NOT buy Valu-Mart. They owned it all along.

    The “Head shop” was originally a donut shop. Then a joke shop.
    I remember reading an article about the opening of donut shop where the owner said he build it so it could be moved. It looked like it was built from pre-fab cabin plans with T-111 siding.

    Comment by Bill Farnsworth — November 7, 2010 @ 12:27 pm

  19. I was feeling a bit nostalgic for the Crossroads Ice Rink today and found your site when I did a google search.

    I grew up in Lake Hills in the 1960’s and went to Bellwood Elementary. I was born at Overlake Hospital the year it opened. I spent most of my youth inside the Crossroads Ice Rink (as a competitive skater) which was located at the center of Crossroads Mall. The mall, at that time, was an open outdoor shopping center with large wooden framed planters centered in the middle of the wide walk ways. The Large wooden frames provided bench-like seating.

    Crossroads shopping center was transfomred into a covered mall in the late 70’s. At the rink we were all in disbelief that they were closing the rink. I remember the older skaters and one of the coaches telling me that the rink had been there since the 50’s and the mall was built around it in the 60’s. The rink seemed pretty old to me in the 60’s -70’s, and the pink in the girls bathroom was consisitent with the 50’s. (The Lake Hills Roller Rink was a separate location to the east a block or so away, out of the shopping center, and many rock and roll bands played there on the weekends).

    My entire family would go ice skating at the rink as a fun family activity, and my mom would often drop my older sister and me off to skate on a Saturday while she shopped for groceries at the Market Basket (later, Mayfair, then Lucky’s). I started taking group skating lessons quite young and then private lessons at both the Bellevue Ice Arena (no longer exists – was on 112th off of 405)and Crossroads Ice Rink when I was nine. I remember the rink getting remodeled in the early 70’s with orange shag carpeting on the floor and benches in the warm room. The warm room had glass walls and a big round fireplace. I remember Arlene McSorley, a very talented “older” skater – she was probably 5 years older than me – getting mad at some public skaters for smoking and putting their cigarettes out on the newly carpeted benches. I looked up to her and thought she was really brave to speak to those girls. (Arlene is now a coach at Olympic View Arena).
    The Market Basket Grocery Store changed names several times as mentioned above. It had a Grill inside and a bunch of the skaters and I would go have lunch (hamburgers, or soup and grilled cheese) at the grill on Saturdays, because we would spend all morning and afternoon at the rink (I was around 12). A public session was about 50 cents. A year later we were old enough to walk over to Pietros Pizza and farther to the little group of restaurants: Herfy’s and KFC. My older sister worked at briefly at Yangstze. (She has some funny stories about that restaurant!)

    There was a small live theater (Fox?) and restaurant at the north end of the Fred Meyer Bulding. This small theater was across from where Pietros was, so one could go out the dinner and then to a show.

    Around 1976, I trained with many talented skaters at Crossroads Ice Pavillion including Rosalynn Sumners (1984 Olympic Silver medalist)and Brian Wright (talented choreographer who has passed away) when their coach Lorraine Borman moved from the Highland Ice Arena in Seattle to the Crossroads Ice Pavillion in Bellevue. When the Crossroads ice rink, home of Overlake Skating Club, closed around ’77 due to the enclosure of the mall, many skaters had to quit and some, like myself, transfered our training to Sno-King which was in Lynnwood (Now Lynnwood Ice Arena). I skated in some of those Ice Crystal shows (as mentioned above) at Crossroads put on by Overlake Skating Club, and after graduating from Sammamish High School, I skated professionally with Ice Capades.

    Rhodes became Lamonts and was located to the north of the rink in a separate stand alone building. The stand alone building to the south of the rink had a childrens shoe store, and music store facing the rink, and on the southside side of that building (facing the parking lot) was a bank, dry cleaners, and a candystore on the SE corner by the Market Basket (I can still smell the carmel corn – which we never got, because we couldn’t afford it). The candy store wasn’t there very long and became a Hallmark card store.

    The building to the West of the rink, I remember as Market Time which eventually became Fred Meyers, then Bartells. I still remember David DeGroot, a skating friend, being facinated with the Pong video game inside Fred Meyers.

    After the mall was enclosed I remember Nordstroms had a Brass Plum and Brass Rail facing the South Parking Lot.
    I also remember Designer Fabrics to the North of Lamonts, and Ernst being in the area of the newest theater group. The Twin theaters, in the area where QFC is now, was very special when it first opened. It deteriorated very quickly after they divided it up into smaller theaters.

    My parents still live in their house 5 minutes from Crossroads, and my older brother and sister live on the Eastside as well. They probably have more details they could share about Crossroads shopping center.

    Thanks for allowing me to share. I have many fond memories of growing up there.

    Comment by Lynn — December 1, 2010 @ 10:45 pm

  20. We moved to Bellevue/Redmond in 1966. Crossroads Shopping Center was “out in the woods”. It was Market Basket which became Mayfair, Market-Time, the ice skating rink, Rhodes Dept Store, Ernst, Red Fox restaurant, Gordon Michaels hair salon, the hobby store, the Purple Balloon, the theater. Around 1967 they built 4 restaurants in a semi circle down 156th – Herfy’s, Skippers, ??. Then a Shari’s type. Above Crossroads was a driving range and dirt patch that remained for many years vacant. ValuMart was on 140th, before White Front 24th was heavily wooded and a small two lane road with no shoulders. There were several Ice Skating and Roller Skating rinks in Bellevue. One was right on 405, one on 140th and NE 24th, 156th and NE 8th. Market-time had the My-T-Fine brands. I remember a lot of the people that worked at Crossroads – the little chubby lady who manned the candy department at Market-time. A lot of beehive hair-dos. It was not indoor at all. Ernst had $1.99 ski lift passes for Hyak. They were a good source for ski clothes and equipment.

    Comment by Jennie — January 14, 2011 @ 4:20 pm

  21. I played a pee wee league hockey game at the ice rink in ’63 or ’64. If I remember correctly, it was an outdoor rink in the center of the court yard.

    Also, did anybody mention the Bellevue Playbarn? I used to work backstage at small productions of plays in what I think later became the Crossroads Theater. The years I volunteered there were ’71 to ’74.

    Comment by Bruce — March 12, 2011 @ 5:48 pm

  22. If I remember correctly, there was a Little League ball field probably next to the Lamplighter apartments. I played one season of Little League there before moving to the Redmond LL. Also, the theater wasn’t always as crappy as referred to above until maybe after 1972-73. We would sometimes go to see a double feature there, and I saw all five Planet of the Apes films in one day at the Crossroads Theater. Time well spent!

    There was a music store at the mall probably around 1974-75 that didn’t seem to mind letting us hang around and admire the Marshalls, etc.

    If you research Eastgate, see what you can find out about Dad’s Donuts. He had a nice business opportunity for kids who needed a little money in the great Boeing downturn of the early 70s. I had a donut route, and would take orders one day, deliver the next, picking up my donuts for delivery with my mom’s help before school. That’s where I got my spending money for baseball shoes, etc. when times were tough.

    Comment by Russ — March 12, 2011 @ 9:37 pm

  23. My family moved to Redmond in 1974, when I was 10. We lived down 24th Street, all the way down to Lake Sammamish. I must have walked the 4-5 miles to and from Crossroads thousands of times. When I lived there, the theatre was at the NW corner of the mall, Ernst/Malmo was back at the NE in a separate building, Lucky’s was the grocery store at the SE side, and Fred Myer was at the SW. Among the stores I remember are the bookstore next to the theatre, a hair salon farther down, pizza parlor (Pietro’s?), the Coach (Roach) House, and then FM. I remember the ice rink at the center mostly for when it was torn down and someone came in and rented R/C cars to kids using the smooth concrete floor. My mother kept the books for Bandwagon Music, which was across from the rink on the South side. There was also a shoe store down from Bandwagon. We used to do car washes at the 76 station by 8th St. Sometime in the early 80s a Dominos was built at the SE perimeter that I drove for for a while. We shopped for school clothes neark every year at Lamonts. The roller rink was up on 164th, just down from 8th. I remember Herfy’s, KFC, Baskin Robbins (who parking lot I turned into quickly to avoid an accident), the Fish Store, driving range & golf course, McDonalds was across the street, next to Stuart Andersons and the Chevon station (all on 156th). Further down was a 7-11 and then some apartments. Wow. Strange how you can walk along in you head and think that nothing much of that still exists. Thanks for the memory jog!

    Comment by Rich — March 12, 2011 @ 11:57 pm

  24. Thanks for the info on this blog. I grew up in the Eastgate area, and mom used to shop at the Valu-Mart , which Mark mentioned in comment number 5. I remember going in there, and it had the smell of roasted cashews and popcorn right inside the front door, as I remember it. Then Leslie’s, and then Fred Meyers. We also used to shop at the A&P market, which(I believe), was located on the Southeast corner of 156th & NE 8th. Mom used to grind the coffee with this hand operated grinder, and they sold the Ice cream in 5 gallon buckets… Boy have things changed..

    Comment by Dan Hoffmann — September 28, 2012 @ 3:42 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

