The Sledgehammer – Version 2.0

July 12, 2008

Moblog: Roughing it? Not really…

Filed under: Mobile, Moblogging, Wanderings — Brian Lutz @ 1:26 am

I’m hoping that the photo above actually works. If not, I’ll fix it when I get home tomorrow. Yes, you can blog from a PocketPC on WordPress… Sort of. Appaarently this also means you can blog from the middle of nowhere these days as long as you can get a cell phone signal… No EVDO, but enough to do something with.

Currently I am about 75 miles from home at Ensign Ranch for a campout with my singles ward at church. The place is next to I-90 between Easton and Cle Elum. Lovely drive to get here, assuming you can catch any of the scenery as you blast by at 80 miles per hour. The campout is fun, but a burn ban means there is no fire, and it seems to be a tad nippy out. It’s probably a good thing I planned to sleep in the car.

Here are my “sleeping” arrangements for the evening. I’ve done this once before, and didn’t have enough padding to make it all that comfortable. Hopefully I have the bugs worked out a bit this time, and I can actually sleep.

I will be doing a bit of wandering on the other side of the mountains tomorrow (as long as I’m over here) so I will have more on this when I get back. Mostly I just want to see how well I can get the moblogging thing to work here and see if it works for photos.

Edit 7/12:  Just got back into town Yeah, apparently it works.  That doesn’t mean that the user can’t do something to mess things up. without the help of the system (fixed the cris-crossed photos.)  Plenty more stuff from a day of wandering around the Yakima Valley coming soon.

2 Comments »

  1. How did you do that? I’ve been trying to install some mobloging pluggin for wordpress and can’t seem to get it to work.

    Comment by Greg — July 24, 2008 @ 5:18 pm

  2. WordPress has a barebones Mobile site at http://m.wordpress.com that you can use for (very) basic post functions. I use Photobucket (http://www.photobucket.com) for my image hosting, and they have an option to upload pictures by e-mail. From there, I had to insert the photos using HTML IMG tags (which can be kind of tricky on a mobile device even with a QWERTY keyboard, and would be an even bigger pain to do if you were trying to use a phone keypad.) As noted, I got the photos mixed up the first time, and had to go back to correct them later. For future use, I probably need to see if I can dig up a basic HTML editor for the PocketPC and see if that helps any.

    Comment by Brian Lutz — July 24, 2008 @ 5:24 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

