The Sledgehammer – Version 2.0

October 20, 2008

It’s Just a Little Rain…

Filed under: Redmond — Tags: — Brian Lutz @ 4:26 pm

This afternoon while I was at work hammering away at the twisty little maze of string arrays and parameters that I’ve somehow managed to turn into test automation for my current feature, when we started hearing the sound of rain on the roof of the building.  The building I work in is basically a big, nearly windowless concrete warehouse with a cube farm set up in it (if the research I’ve done is correct, I’m guessing that this is the building that housed Safeco’s printing facilities when it was built in the late Seventies, since it is quite a bit older than the rest of the old Safeco campus,) and if it gets to the point where you’re actually hearing the rain on the roof you know it’s got to be pouring outside.  Although you can’t see it too well on the obligatory BlurryCam shot, was in fact raining pretty hard out there.  There were even a few tiny hailstones scattered on the ground, although these were unlikely to have been big enough to cause any damage.

A check of the weather conditions by one of the co-workers I share a cube with showed a precipitation map that looked like this:

That rainstorm seems rather specific, doesn’t it?  Do you ever get that sneaking suspicion that someone’s got it in for you?  Me neither, but when you look at the weather map and see something that looks like this, you might start to wonder…  For comparison, here’s what the rest of the Puget Sound area looks like on the same map:

 

 I’m sure there’s some complex explanation for the whole thing involving convergence zones, ocean currents and a really really small low pressure zone or something like that (or, since I haven’t got a clue about meteorology I could just be making all that stuff up,) but it just seems a little odd to me that it’s raining the proverbial cats and dogs around here while virtually everyone else on this side of the Sound has nice (sort of) clear weather (Not sure what’s going on down in Enumclaw though.)  At least this time I’m not stuck outside or anything like that…  If that were the case, I might have to actually use up my monthly weather complaint post on this thing, but since I’m safely inside, I’ll just chalk it up to an odd little bit of weather.

1 Comment »

  1. and not an umbrella in site… right?

    Comment by Heather — October 20, 2008 @ 8:09 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

