The Sledgehammer – Version 2.0

November 22, 2008

Going Around the Table

Filed under: Family — Tags: — Brian Lutz @ 3:36 pm


One of my family’s longstanding traditions on Thanksgiving is that either before or after dinner, we will all go around the table and state the things that we are thankful for in our lives.  This year, things are a little different, as the family seems to have become a lot more far-flung than we have been in the past, which means that for the first time in thirteen years,  there won’t be any representation from the Lutz family at the big Vanderhoeven Thanksgiving get-together.  Instead, myself, my parents and the Keenans will all be renting a big 8-passenger SUV and driving down to Provo to have Thanksgiving with Jason, Heather and Brooks.  While it should be fun to get the family together down there (assuming I manage to survive the 13+ hour drive  each way with two toddlers in the car at least,) at the same time it means that we won’t have the usual chance to go around the table (although I suspect that the obligatory “Oh no, not turkey again!” whine from all the kids before dinner is served will probably proceed as usual.)  In lieu of this, my Mom has decided to put this into a Blog post, and Heather and Jacki have followed suit, so I guess that means that it’s my turn to post some of the things that I am thankful for in my life.

These days, when everything seems to be off to you-know-where in a handbasket, I’m fortunate that so far, things have worked out pretty well for me.  Sure, there are a few things that I need to work on (mostly little things like figuring out who I’m supposed to spend the rest of eternity with and actually ensuring that I actually meet that person at some point in my life,) but all things considered, I can’t complain (but, as Joe Walsh observed back in the Seventies, sometimes I still do.)  I’m thankful that I’ve finally managed to get past the point in my career development that I felt I was stuck at for several years, and that I have been able to find a good team at Zune to work with to help get versions 3.0 and 3.1 (released earlier this week) out the door.  My contract there is actually just about to end as my annual 100-day break in service comes up, but it’s been an excellent opportunity, and it’s kind of cool to be able to go to the store and see a product that I helped make sitting on the shelf (even if I have to dig through a big pile of iPods to get to it.)  There are definitely some interesting things planned in the next couple of years for Zune, and although I can’t talk about any of them right now, I hope to be able to go back when I am eligible to do and continue to help bring those ideas into reality.

Sure, there seems to be a fair bit of uncertainty ahead, but I know that throughout the years, one way or another things have worked out.  On occasion I find myself getting just a bit impatient with the whole process, but one way or another, things work out eventually.  I’m thankful that I have a loving and supportive family to fall back on when needed, and that my parents are the ones with the dogs so I can go visit Imola and Minardi whenever I want, but that I get to go back to my own nice clean house (yeah right) afterward.  I suppose if I wanted to, I could claim that I timeshare on a couple of Beagles since I seem to be over there dogsitting a lot lately, but that’s beside the point.  I’m also thankful that in spite of some of my shortcomings and occasional shortsightedness, I have yet to make any of the really big mistakes, and I hope that I can continue to avoid making any of those.  It’s kind of nice not having my life be messed up too badly…

Finally, I’m glad that I’ll finally be able to take a vacation down Florida in a few weeks, even if I haven’t got the slightest clue what I’m actually going to do with that time yet (aside from figuring that I can probably skip most of the Princess-related stuff for the time being.)  Sure, it may not have all the excitement and thrills of driving down bumpy old highways and  taking pictures of abandoned Route 66 gas stations, but I’m sure I’ll manage to figure out something to do while I’m there. 

So, who’s next?

1 Comment »

  1. […] out there here and there) may recall, last year when Thanksgiving came around, I put together a post that served as something of a virtual version of the Vanderhoeven family tradition of going […]

    Pingback by Going Around the Table Again « The Sledgehammer – Version 2.0 — November 26, 2009 @ 12:04 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

