The Sledgehammer – Version 2.0

November 24, 2008

If the Open Road Calls, Tell it I’m Busy

Filed under: Wanderings — Tags: , — Brian Lutz @ 12:37 pm

 

As I mentioned briefly in the previous post, Thanksgiving is going to be on the road this year.  After having spent the last fourteen Thanksgivings here in Washington, this year’s festivities will be down in Provo with Jason, Heather and Brooks.  Of course, this means that we’re going to have to get down there somehow, and in this case, that somehow involves a 14-hour drive each way, in an 8 passenger SUV with myself, my parents, Jacki, Terence and their two sons.  Of the recent roadtrips that I have taken (within the last couple of years or so,) for most of these I have been on my own, and I can’t recall the last time I was on a roadtrip of more than a couple hundred miles with that many people in one car.  It should be… interesting.

To be honest, unless I’m the one driving I’ve never been all that great at dealing with the whole roadtrip bit.  Part of this has to do with the fact that I just can’t sleep in a moving vehicle much smaller than about 50,000 tons or so, be it a car, an airplane, an RV, or just about anything else that isn’t stationary.  This isn’t as much of an issue when traveling during the daytime (which I tend to prefer,) but at night when there’s no scenery to speak of and a good 600 miles to go in order to get to the destination, it can make for some rather boring travel.  Although a significant portion of this particular trip will be during the daytime hours.  I have yet to see what the effect of adding a couple of toddlers to the equation will be, but something tells me that it should make things… interesting.

Fortunately, this time around I should be bringing my typical array of gadgetry along for the ride, which should make the trip a little bit easier to deal with.  Based on checking coverage maps for Sprint, it looks like I might even have EVDO through the I-84 corridor in Oregon this time around, which means that I might even make a Blog post or two from the road.  I figure that one way or another I’ll get through the trip just fine, but if anyone out there happens to be reading this from Boise, be ready to rescue me if needed…

1 Comment »

  1. Hey, Brian, I feel your pain on the driving part. Although I get to drive and make the others sit in the back seat. We’re in LA (where it’s a wonderful 70 degrees on Thanksgiving), but it took us two 10 hour days of driving. We hail from Pomeroy WA (in the SE corner) and it takes us 3 hours to get to an interstate, then it’s down Hwy 97 through OR and I-5 down California. Come and visit us sometime in the beatiful, historic town of Pomeroy

    John

    Comment by John Gordon — November 27, 2008 @ 7:29 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

