The Sledgehammer – Version 2.0

December 12, 2008

Oh, the Weather Outside is Supposed to Get Frightful…

Filed under: Wanderings, Washington — Tags: , , — Brian Lutz @ 4:18 pm

…At least that’s what they keep telling us.  According to forecasts for the upcoming weekend, the Puget Sound area is due for one of those much vaunted arctic blasts we seem to get one or two of per year that serve mostly to drive the local news stations into their typical storm-reporting frenzy.  It sounds like the Pacific Coast and northern Puget Sound area are going to be the ones to get hit the hardest by this, but for some reason, it seems that anytime something happens in the so-called Puget Sound Convergence Zone, Redmond manages to get most of the effects of it, even though Redmond is just a bit to the south of where the zone is generally considered to be located.  The short version of this is that we could be in for some snow, and there’s a good chance that there will be icy roads on Sunday Morning…  Which happens to be precisely when I’m supposed to be flying out to Orlando.

Assuming that I can manage to actually get off the ground on Sunday, I should be able to dodge most of the really nasty stuff (the forecast is expecting the sub-freezing temperatures to stick around for days,) and the weather down in Orlando is looking just a little bit better than it is around here, with mid-to-upper 70s, and even an 80 or two) in the forecast and what should be clear weather for most of the week.  Apparently it does get fairly cold in the evenings down there though, so it looks like I will need to keep the jackets and pants handy, just in case.  Even the low temperatures look fairly tolerable though, and for the most part it looks like the weather there should be a whole heck of a lot better than the weather for the next week or so is going to be up here in Redmond.

In the meantime, I am still trying to plan out what I am going to do when I get there, and even though over on the DISBoards there are literally thousands of trip reports, theme park tips and all sorts of other stuff (apparently that board is where a bunch of the really experienced Disney junkies like to hang out, I have still only managed to put together a relatively vague  outline of what I will be doing while I am there.  And believe me, some of these people are downright obsessed with this stuff, taking trips there 2 or 3 times a year and writing these monster trip reports that seem to cover everything down to the tiniest detail.  In an effort to blend in with the locals, I have actually been putting together a pre-trip report over there as part of planning, but even that is nothing compared to some of the big 73-page threads going on over there covering planning, traveling, spending time at the parks, the hotels, the resorts, and all sorts of things. 

One thing that I have learned over the years is that for pretty much every subject you can think of, you can find an entire board full of people dedicated to that subject, often to the point of near obsession (I stopped reading the Price is RightI used to visit on occasion somewhere around the time that pretty much every thread started descending into angst-riddled drama over changes made in season 37.  I mean, this was total full-blown “the world is coming to an end” type drama.  You’d think Syd Vinnedge came over and personally kicked all their dogs or something.  Anyway, if you can get past the drama and generic angst that generally accompanies such things (fortunately, DISboards seems to be mostly free of such things,) resources like that can be surprisingly good resources for planning.  That doesn’t mean that I’ve actually managed to get any significant planning done yet, but at least I know where to go complain when I manage to get myself stuck for three hours on It’s a Small World.

I am definitely looking forward to this trip though.  While there’s something to be said for being able to bring your kids to the Happiest Place on Earth (or at least the Happiest Place in Florida, or the Happiest Place A Few Miles West of Downtown Orlando, or whatever the place is) and watch them enjoy the sense of wonder that come with the youthful ability to suspend disbelief, I’m sure there are plenty of people out there would love the chance to go on their own, free to roam without worrying about the kids getting sick (one thing I’ve learned from reading all the trip reports over there is that it seems to be impossible to take two or more kids to the place for more than a day without someone puking) or not being able to go ride the Tower of Terror or some other appropriately thrilling ride because the kids don’t want to go.  On the other hand, as a single guy traveling solo, it also means that there are some things I probably wouldn’t be able to get away with (I’m going to guess I should probably pass on all the princess stuff.) I suspect that I probably won’t get the chance to take a solo trip here again (if I ever figure out who I’m supposed to marry, that is,) so I might as well enjoy it while I still have the chance, but not so much that I don’t care to go any other way.

I also need to make sure that I’m not trying to run full tilt for four straight days while I’m there.  As I’ve discussed before, I have the tendency to overdo the whole vacation thing sometimes, and don’t bother taking any time to relax.  In retrospect, I really wish I had scheduled longer than 4 days to spend there (or at least had gotten myself a later flight out than 7:05 am on Friday) but if I was staying much longer than this, I would find myself beginning to run into some of the big crowds that come from the Christmas break.  I suppose that I’ve got to figure these things out somewhere along the line, so I’ll be able to plan a lot better the next time around.

Meanwhile, I apologize once again for the light Blogging here this week, and I suspect that Blogging will be light again next week while I’m at Disney World, since I will have limited access to Internet (I’ll pretty much have my phone, and maybe Internet access at the hotel if I feel like spring for $9,.95 a day for Internet access.)  I suspect that I should have plenty to say about the trip once I get back though, and after Christmas and New Years Day are done with, hopefully I’ll have some time to work on some of those projects I’ve been putting off for a while.  In the meantime, anyone got some Pixie Dust I can borrow?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

