The Sledgehammer – Version 2.0

March 25, 2009

A Solution to the Camera Dilemma

Filed under: Site Stuff — Tags: , — Brian Lutz @ 12:21 am

As I mentioned last week, my old digital camera bit the proverbial dust when it was accidentally dropped last week, and Canon came back with a repair cost of $140 if I wanted to get it fixed.  Aside from the fact that $140 is a rather significant chunk of what I paid for the camera originally, and not too far off from what one of the newer models would cost, I decided that if I was going to spend the money I might as well see if I can upgrade a bit in the process.  Canon has a program to offer upgrades to customers with broken cameras, and gave me the option of getting an SD870 model for the same $140 that fixing the old one would have cost, as well as a couple of options for higher-end cameras at somewhat higher prices, although all of the models offered were refurbished older models.  In light of that, I decided to just go ahead and see about getting a new one.

After considering a number of options, I ultimately decided that the Canon PowerShot SD890model was probably going to be the best fit for my needs, being a couple of steps up from the SD850 that I was replacing.  In addition to having all the manual mode features of the SD850, (relatively) similar controls and a reasonable pricetag (less than I paid for the SD850 about a year ago in fact, although I recall these ones being fairly expensive when they came out,) this camera also bumps up the resolution to 10 megapixels and has a higher zoom range (5x, compared to 4x)  to the mix.  Given the fact that this particular model seems to be on the way out of the channel in favor of a newer model to be released soon (the SD970) it was a bit hard to find one locally at a reasonable price, but fortunately I was able to locate it at Sam’s Club down in Renton for the same price as Amazon, saving me the cost of shipping and allowing me to get a hold of the camera right away.  It also uses the same battery as the 850, so when I get that shipped back to me I’ll have an extra battery to use with this one (although I’ve only run out of battery in the middle of something a couple of times on the SD850, so it hasn’t been much of an issue.) 

Not that I really wanted to be spending the money on a new camera at this particular point in time or anything like that, but at least this means I have the camera situation taken care of now.  You probably won’t notice any big difference here (after all, an extra couple of megapixels don’t matter much when most things get resized down to 800×600 anyway) but this should allow me to resume the usual Recycled Newspaper posts and other stuff like that.  Oh, and I’ll try not to break things too much this time, OK?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

