The Sledgehammer – Version 2.0

March 27, 2009

Feast or Famine: The Camera Conundrum Continues

Filed under: Random Stuff, Technology — Tags: , , — Brian Lutz @ 12:09 pm

OK, now this is just getting silly.  As you might recall from earlier this week, I had purchased a new Canon PowerShot SD890 IS with which to replace the SD850 that I have been using for picture-taking duties on this site and elsewhere after that camera met with the dreaded Canon E18 Lens Error.  Since with the purchase of a new camera I was no longer inclined to spend $140 on a repair, I had my old camera sent back to me unrepaired, since if nothing else I could still use the battery in the new one (which costs $60 by itself direct from Canon, although cheaper alternatives exist.)  There was just one problem with this:  Somewhere along the line, the lens error seems to have decided to go away, and upon receiving the “unrepaired” camera back from the factory, I have found that it is once again functioning as expected.  This means that within a week I have gone from having only my old camera available for photo-taking duties to having no less than three working digital cameras here at home (although as far as I’m concerned the old one can stay retired at this point since it’s always been a pain to take good photos with.)  Technically, if you count the one on my phone (which isn’t all that great, as you can see from the blurry photo above) you could even call it four, but that’s beside the point.

The good news is that this means that all of the damage from last week’s little fender bender is now resolved (I got the car back from the shop yesterday with the back bumper fixed,) but now that leaves me with yet another dilemma:  With my SD850 being apparently back in working order, this means that I have two cameras which are basically redundant.  On one hand, the SD890 is good for a higher zoom and an extra two megapixels (which seems like it would be helpful when trying to pull stuff off the microfilm,) but on the other hand, the user interface has what I would consider to  be some unnecessary complications in it (not nearly as bad as some of the other Canon models I messed with when I was out camera shopping, but enough to be annoying) and a couple of minor build quality issues.  The SD850, for its part, is what I’m familiar with, works well (for the most part) and is a bit smaller (by probably about a centimeter or so on in width, but has lower resolution.  Still, I’m pretty sure either one would work just fine for what I’m using them for.  I suppose I could always keep the 850 as my backup, but to be honest, I’m not sure I would have bothered replacing it if it hadn’t stopped working in the first place.  Both cameras work well for my purposes, I’m just not sure I really need two of them.  Any ideas what I should do here?

Oh, and by the way, there will be Recycled Newspaper coming up, I just need to head back to the library to get a couple more items to use.  Assuming I’m not too lazy about things that should be out sometime tonight or tomorrow.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

