The Sledgehammer – Version 2.0

May 26, 2009

And the Fans are Going Wild

Filed under: Random Stuff — Brian Lutz @ 7:31 pm

Yesterday for Memorial Day, we had one of our standard Vanderhoeven family get-togethers down in Bonney Lake, complete with quite a bit more food than we actually needed (in fact, if I hadn’t managed to foist some of the chips and dip I brought off on for snacking after the main meal, I would have ended up bring back all the food I brought down, which would be a really bad thing for whatever diet I happen to be pretending to follow right now.)  Our numbers were a bit smaller than usual, since a number of people were off climbing up to Camp Muir at Mount Rainier for some inexplicable reason, but sometimes having everyone there at once can be a bit overwhelming anyway.  I’m sure someone else will blog it (or already has) so I’ll just leave it at that. 

Anyway, after making the drive home from Bonney Lake, I got to my apartment and prepared to settle in for the evening and try to figure out what I’m supposed to do with five pounds of uncooked pork chops when I felt the squish of wet carpet underfoot.  In my experience, there are very few instances in which soggy carpet could be considered a good thing, and I wasn’t particularly inclined to try to figure out what any of those are, especially at 9pm at night.  Frequent readers of this Blog (and other similar mythical creatures) might recall that this isn’t the first time I’ve had this happen.  It was about a year and a half ago that the hot water heater in my apartment decided to fail at around 8pm on a fine Sunday evening, leaking several gallons worth of its contents  onto the nearest available carpet and generally making a big mess out of things.  Thankfully the response at the time was swift, and  although I suspect the neighbors might not have appreciated the carpet cleaners showing up at 11pm all that much, the problem was taken care of swiftly, and by 9pm the next morning a new hot water heater was in place, leaving just enough time to take a shower before work.  Initially I suspected that another hot water heater might have gone out on me (what are the chances of that happening twice?) but further investigation revealed the ominous sound of dripping from within the wall between the office/den where the heater is located and the laundry room on the other side.  Turning off the water at the main shutoff valve seemed to slow down the drips, but also cut off water to the upstairs apartment.  A call to the apartment emergency number was made, but this time the maintenance man didn’t show up until this morning. 

Once he did show up, the problem was identified (this time it was the upstairs hot water heater that had an issue with the pressure relief valve) and the carpet cleaners were once again dispatched with the requisite water extraction equipment, which naturally accomplished in five minutes twice as much as an hour of wringing out soggy towels had done the night before (not that I’d know anything about that…)  When all was said and done, I was left with no less than four big high-speed fans running at full blast in the apartment to try to dry out the space inside the wall, plus an industrial-strength dehumidifier for good measure.  If fans are considered to be white noise then I’ve got a freakin’ blizzard of the stuff right now.  I’ve actually worked in noisy environments before (when you’re a contract software tester, your typical workspace tends to be somewhere wedged in between two server racks and a freakishly huge power unit,) but I think this one beats even the SMS test lab right now in terms of sheer volume.  I also have to use my notebook to write this on even though I’m at my desk in my office because the combination of fans and my computer tripped the circuit breaker earlier, and I’m guessing that repeated circuit breaker trips probably aren’t a good thing for the well-being and longevity of a big box full of high-tech components.  And I haven’t even bothered trying to figure out what I’m supposed to do when bedtime comes around tonight.  It’s not quite as noisy over in the bedroom, but I’m guessing I should probably stock up on earplugs and Tylenol anyway, because

I suppose I can’t really complain much though.  At least the problem is being taken care of properly (I think) and with any luck I won’t be around here the next time the carpets decide to turn up soggy again.  Hopefully if it happens again I can find some way to blame the washer and get a new one…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

