The Sledgehammer – Version 2.0

August 6, 2009

Doing My Spring Cleaning in the Middle of Summer

Filed under: Random Stuff — Brian Lutz @ 11:12 pm

Yeah, I’m STILL slacking off on the whole Blog posting thing these days.  After all, it’s summer, and even though within the course of the week we’ve gone from excruciatingly high temperatures to unseasonably low ones (with a fair dose of rain in the forecast for next week) I’ve still had a fair bit going on over the last week or so, most of which is a bit too mundane to write much about here. 

I’m still (in theory anyway) in the process of trying to get my apartment back in shape and cleaned up to a reasonably presentable form on the off chance that anyone ever decides to visit the place.  Without too much effort, I can manage to at least make the living room area presentable, but it’s the rest of the place (especially the den) that’s the tricky part.  Every so often I make an attempt to at least run papers through the shredder to get rid of some of the miscellaneous accumulations, but eventually it all manages to find its way back onto the desk.  I’ve ultimately been forced to concede the fact that my desk, huge as it is, is probably too cluttered to ever really effectively use it as a workspace for much more than the computer.

In order to solve this problem in a somewhat less-than-optimal way (and to fill in some space vacated by the recent removal of an old armchair) I have added another desk (or table, as the case may be) to the back of the room.  I mentioned this in a previous post, but I have since completed this setup.  At the present time, I am using this as a workbench I can use for my RC car, and the inevitable breakage and/or upgrades that will result from the ongoing use thereof.  Unfortunately (or fortunately, depending on your perspective) the last couple of outings have failed to produce any significant breakage to fix, so I haven’t had a chance to do to much here yet.  It’s kind of ironic actually.  When I was doing my research before buying a Revo, the general consensus on it in comparison to the HPI Savage X (the one my Dad has) is that the Revo is faster but not quite as durable, while the Savage X is much more durable but not as fast.  A month (and change) later, the only repairs that I’ve needed on the Revo are a couple of fixes to the front right suspension (an A-arm, two pushrods and a CV shaft) after ramming it into things at high speed (and a change of the front shock oil to stiffen it up a bit) while my Dad’s Savage has already been through a steering servo, two broken fuel tanks, stripped-out differential gears and a blown-out shock.  When it’s running though, I’d say his is probably actually a bit faster than mine though (thanks to the 4.6cc engine compared to the 3.3 in mine.)  Maybe I need to go jump the thing over some houses or something to catch up in the breakage department.  But I digress.

Even though I’ve got my fancy new workbench-like thingy over on the other side of the den, I’ve noticed that it hasn’t yet managed to magically get rid of all the clutter i9n here.  Apparently I’m supposed to do that part myself.  In addition to the workbench, I have also added a small chest of drawers to the room (which sounds like a really overwrought term to use for something I picked up for $40 at Ikea) to try and at least get some of the clutter out of sight, so I have plenty of room available in which to store the next batch of clutter.  It’s a vicious cycle.

Of course, if I ever manage to get that part figured out, the next big challenge is my bedroom.  I don’t  ever have anyone except myself  (and maybe the apartment maintenance guy a time or two) in there, so that place has really gone downhill these days.  I actually think that one wouldn’t be too bad to get back into shape, but I’m just really bad about folding laundry these days, so the stuff has a tendency to stick around for far, far longer than it really should.  It’s just way too easy to blow the whole thing off when nobody else ever has to look at it (I can just close the door in there if I have company coming over.)  I really need to just go in and clean everything up one of these days though; if nothing else, after being here for four years the carpets could use a good cleaning, and just running a Rug Doctor around the pile of stuff on the floor apparently isn’t the proper solution to that particular problem.

Maybe if I had a wife to bug me when things got too messy this all wouldn’t be a problem anymore.  Any volunteers?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

