The Sledgehammer – Version 2.0

November 2, 2009

Beagles Don’t Come With a Snooze Button

Filed under: Dogs — Tags: — Brian Lutz @ 7:46 pm

This week, with my parents off to yet another sunny and exotic destination (well, compared to around here at least,) I find myself once again taking care of Imola and Minardi for the next week or so.  I’ve already been on this particular dogsitting stint for a couple of days, and I can tell that even though I pretend to be a responsible dog owner for roughly 2 or 3 weeks out of the year, apparently I’m familiar enough with the whole routine that one of the regulars at the Marymoor dog park saw me there yesterday, and immediately asked, “Where did they go this time?”  It worries me slightly that I even recognize any of the regulars at the dog park, not to mention the fact that I might be in the process of becoming one myself in spite of not even owning any dogs of my own.  While it’s kind of nice to get a chance to spend time with Imola and Minardi every once in a while (and they seem to enjoy it too, or at least tolerate my presence in their territory well enough that I can usually manage to avoid getting any limbs gnawed off) it does definitely take some adjustments.

As most people who know me can probably attest, I’m a serious night owl.  These two are, for lack of a better term, morning dogs.  This means that I usually end up waking up with a faceful of dog noses at an inconvenient hour.  At the slightest hint of wakefulness, both of them will jump in (well, maybe not jump per se, they generally save that particular behavior for feeding time) and start face licking.  Granted, I’m pretty sure that’s mostly a greeting behavior, but I’m sure there’s at least a slight undertone of “will you get up and FEED us already, you lazy bum?” in the whole thing.  If the hour is too ridiculously early (depending on one’s definition of course) you might be able to pretend that you didn’t notice a faceful of dog slobber and roll over for a few more minutes of pseudo-sleep, but you generally won’t get away with that particular routine for too long.  Generally, the end result of this is that you end up waking up a lot earlier than you might like, and you’ve got a couple of overly energetic dogs waiting for breakfast and their walk.  Eventually you manage to shake off the cobwebs and (sort of) catch up, but if dogs have a tough time waking up in the morning, they sure don’t seem to show it at all.  They also have no concept of such esoteric concepts as Daylight Savings time, so you start getting the whole wake-up routine somewhere around 6 AM or so.  Most of the time, these two have actually been pretty reasonable though, and even seem to put up with my off-the-wall schedule (to some extent anyway, It’s probably a lot easier to do when you sleep eighteen hours out of the day in the first place and don’t have anything on your schedule except for feeding time and walks.)  

Sure, they’re excitable, easily distracted and will bark for 15 minutes straight at anything that isn’t nailed down, but all things considered, they’re actually being pretty well-behaved this time around.  I’m still pretty sure I’m not ready for full-time dog ownership at this point, but I would like to think that I wouldn’t be a completely disastrous pet owner at this point if I did actually have dogs of my own…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

