The Sledgehammer – Version 2.0

November 25, 2009

Going Around the Table Again

Filed under: Holidays — Tags: — Brian Lutz @ 6:32 pm

Well, it looks like Thanksgiving is just about here once again.  As some of my regular readers (in other words, my Mom and my siblings, and a few other people out there here and there) may recall, last year when Thanksgiving came around, I put together a post that served as something of a virtual version of the Vanderhoeven family tradition of going around the table at Thanksgiving and talking about some of the things that we’re thankful for.  Although this Thanksgiving will see the Lutz family returning to the traditional Vanderhoeven get-together after a year’s absence, I thought it would also be good to revisit this here.

I suppose one could say that this past year has been interesting, in much the way the same thing could be said of a slow-motion train wreck.  Between the economy, politics, the outbreak of Porky’s Revenge and all the other various things that have been going on, it hasn’t exactly been the easiest of times to live in.  I’ve also found myself needing to make a difficult transition or two during this past year, and  for a brief period, it even looked like there was a very real possibility that I could have ended up pulling up stakes and moving down to Utah, although that one ended up never actually materializing for some reason that I have never been able to figure out.  This past year has definitely been one of those “interesting” times that end up being both a blessing and a curse at the same time.

And yet, somehow I’ve managed to make it through all of this, and come out the other side relatively unscathed.  Sure I still have some things I haven’t quite figured out (like the little matter of trying to figure out how to stop being so freakin’ single all the time,) but one way or another, I’ve managed to get through all of this.  I’m still here and in one piece, I’m employed, The bills are getting paid without too much trouble, and I have my health.  Somehow, I’ve managed to dodge the Swine Flu on at least two occasions that I know of, and aside from what is probably a slightly irrational aversion to the Whitman’s Sampler (long story) I have managed to get through the year with no ill effects.  I’m especially grateful that I have my family nearby, that I gained a new nephew this year (and have another niece/nephew on the way sometime around May of next year,) and that as long as you don’t lock us all up in a crowded apartment for three days we all get along quite well.  I am thankful for the opportunities that I have had to travel over the course of the last year, and for the natural curiosity that I have about things that leads me to dig more deeply into many of them than most people would (even if it has been known to get me into trouble a time or two.)  In short, I am thankful that the Lord is mindful of me,  provides the things that I need, and even manages to put up with me and my slightly-too-abundant shortcomings.  Sometimes I don’t quite end up taking the path I would have preferred, but ultimately I do eventually manage to end up where I’m supposed to be, and I have faith that I will continue to do so.

So…  Who’s next?

1 Comment »

  1. I really loved reading this Brian! Thanks for sharing I’m pretty grateful to have you around! We really like you!

    Comment by Heather Lively — November 26, 2009 @ 11:49 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

