The Sledgehammer – Version 2.0

April 23, 2010

Stuck Between a Baguette and a Hard Place

Filed under: Food — Brian Lutz @ 6:56 pm

For those of you who may be wondering, yes I am still around.  I know it’s kind of a cliché to claim that I happen to have about six different things going on at once right now and demanding my attention, but right now at work I’ve pretty much got six different things going on at once right now and demanding attention.  Seven if you count the one that I really should be working on but don’t really have time for.  It’s certainly keeping me from getting too bored, but it does take a pretty decent chunk out of my free time.  And if you were wondering, I do still have a comprehensive review of the iPad in the works (gotta’ strike while the iron is hot you know,) it’s just turning out to be a tad more epic than I had planned on, and is taking a while to finish.  I’ll try to have it done in the next couple of days.

To some extent, I’ve always been indecisive.  There are times when I just can’t make up my mind about something, and they happen a lot more frequently than I would like.  At times, I have even been known to make major life-altering decisions based on the flip of a coin (a method which, surprisingly, doesn’t result in disastrous consequences nearly as often as I would expect it to.)  Of course, even the little decisions can be trickier than they should be at times as well.  In particular, food is one of those things I’ve never been good at deciding on.  Even when I’m hungry, I find that frequently I just can’t decide on what it is that I actually want to eat.  I’ve been known to walk into the grocery store with a grumbling stomach and just end up browsing.  Eventually I’ll get hungry enough to just settle on something, but at that point, but at that point I’ll rarely enjoy what I’m eating too much.  I’m sure this type of thing happens to everyone on occasion, but lately for me it seems to be happening more and more often, and I haven’t quite been sure why this is happening.  At least I wasn’t sure until I came to a sudden realization while I was out wandering in my customary aimless fashion last Saturday:  Somehow, I’ve managed to get bored of eating.

Food seems to be one of those things that people just can’t live without, for better or for worse.  On a more or less daily basis, we’re required to eat.  Exactly what we eat is up to us (within limits, of course,) but with these choices do come some consequences.  Obviously trying to live off of nothing but junk food would ultimately be a bad thing, as would a steady diet of filet mignon and caviar (maybe not quite so bad from a dietary perspective, but you’d certainly feel it in the pocketbook.)  Ultimately, everyone is going to develop their own set of likes and dislikes, but in the end everyone is going to have to eat something.  Even though each of us has our own list of favorite foods, we also tend to crave variety at the same time.  Admittedly, there are plenty of people out there who can be perfectly content to have the same thing for lunch every single day, but I’m pretty sure I’m not one of them.  Which can get a little bit tricky when the nearby lunch options are limited.

Don’t get me wrong, there are some great places within easy walking distance of my office.  One particular favorite I have picked up in Pioneer Square is Tat’s Deli (on Occidental for the time being, but planning to move to a place at roughly the corner of Second and Yesler soon.)  Philly Cheesesteaks are their specialty, but another favorite of mine is the Tat’strami, a tasty (yet quite messy) Pastrami version of a cheesesteak with coleslaw added right into the sandwich.  I have to keep myself from eating there too often because it’s a bit on the expensive side and because I’d probably gain about 50 pounds if I did.  Salumi is another popular spot for lunch in the neighborhood (a place owned by TV chef Mario Batali’s parents which is noted for its cured meats and a line out the door longer than some rides at Disneyland,) and there some other newer but interesting places and well-established standbys in the neighborhood as well, with a moderate scattering of unassuming cookie-cutter deli places and a few chains like Subway, Jimmy John’s, Quizno’s and a Taco Del Mar to fill in what few gaps remain between all the random art galleries.  Out near the stadiums there’s also the obligatory scattering of sports bars, but somehow I suspect that although some people wouldn’t mind a lunch of Jaegerbombs and mud wrestling, such things would most likely be frowned upon in a professional environment, so those ones are out.  So there’s no shortage of places to go, but there’s just one problem with all this:  When it comes down to it, everyone’s serving basically the same thing.

I’m sure that 4th Earl of Sandwich John Montagu meant well when he “invented” the Sandwich (in reality, I suspect that the idea is obvious enough that someone managed to come up with it before him, he was just fortunate enough to grab the naming rights,) but when just about every restaurant within half a mile of the office seems to be serving up sandwiches, it can get a little bit old.  It’s not really that simple of course (after all, aside from the presence of some breadlike substance, there really isn’t much in the way of rules on sandwich making,) but even with the large number of choices, for some reason I just can’t help but think I’m eating the same thing every single freakin’ day.  I suppose I could try packing my own lunch, but I’ve never been good at that type of thing.  It’s mostly the pesky habit I have of getting out of bed roughly fifteen minutes before I need to be out the door, then dilly-dallying for about eight of those minutes.  I suppose if I ever get married this is one of those pesky habits someone is going to have to work on, but in the meantime, I’ll just claim that I’ll figure it out someday and leave it at that.  Of course, that still leaves me bored of eating, which doesn’t seem like a particularly good position to be in.  Any ideas what you’re supposed to do about that one?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

