The Sledgehammer – Version 2.0

May 5, 2010

More Random Thoughts: The Thick of Thin Things, Way Too Much Technology, and Selling Out to the Mouse Again

Filed under: Random Stuff — Brian Lutz @ 1:11 am

Historic Preservation: You're Doing it Wrong.

 

As of late I’ve been finding myself just a tad scatterbrained about Blogging, with about half a dozen halfbaked ideas floating around, but not much material to back any of them up.  So I’ll toss a few of ’em out here: 

  • Lately I seem to find myself spending a lot of time in the thick of thin things.  It’s called my job.  It’s definitely been keeping me busy these days , but there are definitely still times that I find myself wondering how the heck I ended up here.  I suspect there are plenty of people who would love to watch clips of late night talk shows all day and get paid for it, but to be honest, it gets kind of old after a while.  At least the app we’ve been working on to play those clips (which should be out before too long now) turned out to be pretty cool…
  • Being the lead (read: only) tester in the office means that often the various mobile devices that are being used for testing tend to accumulate at my desk.  Back when I was just getting into mobile device stuff back in the early half of the last decade, I found myself wondering out loud just how nerdy one would have to be in order to be carrying two PocketPCs around, and concluded that the answer to that question was not one that I really wanted to know.  Today while I was at work minding my own business and closing out a few of my resolved bugs, an e-mail arrived in my inbox, at which no fewer than four different devices on my desk beeped at me to let me know of this fact.  If carrying two phones is enough to indicate dangerous quantities of nerdiness, I REALLY don’t want to find out what it means to be carrying four.  I suppose one way or another I’ll be finding out soon enough…
  • In theory, I’m supposed to be limiting myself to one post per month complaining about the weather, but with the mild winter we’ve had here this year, it’s been quite a while since I’ve really needed to break one out.  The Spring we’ve had so far, on the other hand, has been a bit on the odd side as far as weather goes.  The last couple of days here have seen some pretty heavy rainstorms (and hail)  around here, as well as a fair bit of late-season mountain snow.  The meteorologists around here like to talk a lot about the so-called Puget Sound Convergence Zone (described as being roughly the area between Everett and Northgate in Seattle) that seems to be the cause of a lot of the more extreme weather we have around here.  Based on the description, the part of Redmond in which I live is supposed to be just a bit to the South of where this thing is supposed to form.  So if that’s the case, why is it that any time something happens in the Convergence Zone, we seem to get clobbered by it around here?  Oh, and did I mention that it’s freakin’ cold around here lately?  We’re barely breaking 50 most days lately, and getting lows down in the thirties.  It’s supposed to be May, for Heaven’s sake.  I’m supposed to be heading outside in Tevas and shorts, not a coat and gloves.  And while I can understand why one might appreciate the occasional thunderstorm, I prefer my thunderstorms embedded in Doors songs, not five miles away when I’m not paying attention.

 

  • This is an ad that I saw at Town Center the other day.  I’m pretty sure I’m not quite THAT busy, but if someone’s got any exciting new ways to be bored, I certainly wouldn’t mind giving them a try.  I’m getting just a little bored of my current methods of being bored.  Then again, not being bored sounds like a good alternative too. 
  • I suppose this isn’t news to anyone who’s actually tried to use one, but frequent flyer programs are confusing as heck.  There’s whole websites and wikis dedicated to trying to explain this stuff, but even with that I’ve hardly got a clue about any of the stuff.  A number of years ago I got signed up by my Mom for American Airlines’ program when I was flying down to Florida for a cruise, and since then I get a bunch of random e-mail that seems to suggest that if I wish to remain enrolled in a frequent flyer program I should really consider flying frequently.  In theory I have enough miles saved up that I could actually do something with them, but I need to have some sort of activity on my account before the middle of next month to prevent those miles from expiring.  While I managed to figure out something that should (in theory) prevent these miles from expiring, it does also provide a nice convenient excuse to go somewhere too.  Since I figure I can’t get away for too much more than a long weekend or so, it had to be somewhere reasonably close, so ultimately on a bit of a whim, I’ve booked three days at Disneyland coming up later this month.  You might be hard pressed to get me to actually admit it (unless you read the 7-part comprehensive Disney World trip report I wrote last year but never quite finished posting here,) but I seem to be a bit of a Disney fan, and since it’s a place I can get to without excessive amounts of flying it fits the bill.  Ideally I’d like to plan on taking a week off and going somewhere later in the year, but we’ll see what happens.  In the meantime, it sounds like they’ve got some interesting new stuff down there.  I’m sure you’ll be hearing more about this one later.
  • Oh, and in case anyone was wondering, I don’t speak Dwarvish.   At least not without cheating…
3 Comments »

  1. What? You don’t speak Dwarvish? Dang.

    Comment by Windy — May 5, 2010 @ 10:14 am

    • You sound disappointed.

      Comment by Brian Lutz — May 5, 2010 @ 7:57 pm

      • I am disappointed. More people should just know these things.

        Comment by Windy — May 5, 2010 @ 11:12 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

