The Sledgehammer – Version 2.0

May 8, 2010

Fun With Insomnia: Because Sleep is Overrated Anyway.

Filed under: Random Stuff — Brian Lutz @ 1:44 am

Earlier this week, I saw some article linked on one of the Blogs (too lazy to look it up now) lamenting the deleterious effects of the iPad on people’s sleep habits (as well as other bedroom-based activities,) mostly on the basis that spending hours staring at some bright thing six inches from your face in the dark isn’t a good way to get to sleep (Note: obligatory “duh” goes here.) I am probably not doing much to disprove the theory right now. Of course, i have never been all that good at sleeping in the first place, but this thing probably isn’t helping much. It certainly doesn’t take a whole lot to keep me up half the night these days.

The annoying part of all this is that just a couple of hours ago I was practically ready to zonk out in front of the computer, but had to help out with a bug repro for one of our developers in India before I could actually go to bed (unrelated note: for some unknown reason, the iPad decided to autocomplete that to “bedlam”, and to be honest, it might have a point there.) As i have said before, i’m certainly enjoying the job, but i have found it’s definitely not the type of job that can be left in the office at the end of the day. After thinking i had the bug repro sorted out I started going through the usual pre-bedtime routine, I was just about to turn off the computer and get ready tp go to sleep when another Skype message came in asking for tests of the prior bug fix, and a couple of others, Still halfway to la-la land at is point, I muddled through the fixes and found one more bug that needed one more build to fix. I think I finally managed to get all this mostly taken care of (the new bug aside, but I can probably leave that until morning) but by then nearly an hour had passed since I had tried to go to bed.

Sure enough, now that i can actually go to bed for real this time, I’m wide awake. And, for some inexplicable reason, blogging about it. Doesn’t It always seem to work out that way? Oh well. At least now I have shiny new toys to blame it on.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

