The Sledgehammer – Version 2.0

May 13, 2010

A List of Some Things Which I Have Recently Made Lists of

Filed under: Random Stuff — Brian Lutz @ 1:39 am

 Lately it seems like every time I try to figure out what to Blog about, I inevitably come up with a laundry list of other stuff that I should really be doing instead.  Since I haven’t really got any better ideas right now, here is that list.

Some of the things I need right now:

  • A box of dryer sheets
  • To renew the tabs on my car
  • A life (Yeah, still trying to figure that one out.)
  • For Ms. Right to show up at my doorstep wondering where I’ve been all her life, preferably with enough advance notice that I can clean the place up a bit first
  • To do something about the colossal mess in my Den
  • A 3-day Disneyland Parkhopper pass (I’ve got just about everything else worked out now for the trip next weekend except for this)
  • A vacation (see above)
  • To return the Mini/Micro USB cable I bought from Best Buy to sync stuff to the Android devices for work, but not only did it turn out to be a charge only cable, but apparently it somehow even manages to suck at that.
  • To finish the iPad review that I would have had up here three weeks ago if it weren’t for (insert your favorite lame excuse here)
  • To write an excessively long and rambling enumeration of just how much of a freakin’ pain it is to install a development build onto a Blackberry device
  • A haircut (as I’m sure my Mother will remind me of the next time I see her)
  • to figure out what the heck I’m supposed to do with a 400-pound arcade cabinet when I end up moving out of this place
  • To get the brakes checked on my car.  I helped replace the rear pads a bit more than 5,000 miles ago, but lately the brakes just feel a bit mushy for some reason.
  • To replace the taillight on my car which burned out again after I replaced it less than six months ago.

Some of the things I don’t really need right now, but would be nice:

  • An iPad Camera Connector kit.  I’ll spare you the rant about how Apple not only took functionality that should have been built into the device and stuck it on clunky $29 accessories instead, but they also made the things impossible to find anywhere.  Every Apple store I’ve checked with invariably says the things are out of stock with no ETA on getting more in.   Come on, it’s just a freakin’ piece of plastic with a few circuits in it, how impossible can it be?
  • An HTC Evo 4G.  The official release date and pricing for this highly anticipated Android phone just got announced today, and it just happens that this comes out four days before my birthday next month.  I’m pretty sure I’m going to get one to replace my aging (and presumably seriously thinking about biting the proverbial dust any day now) Mogul, but I’m not so sure I really want to tack an extra $30 onto my phone bill each month to enable the much ballyhooed tethering feature.  It would be nice, but how often would I really use it?
  • A new notebook computer.  The one I have is getting old, and 7 1/2 pounds and change is kind of a pain to haul around on a regular basis.   And while the iPad is nice for some things, there are other things (which happen to be tasks I deal with on a regular basis) for which it is almost completely unsuitable.  Thus the continuing need to keep a notebook computer around.
  • A  new set of bed sheets that actually fit.  Yeah, I still haven’t ever figured out how to solve this problem.
  • Dual monitors for my desktop system at home.  Heck, I’d settle for just having a taskbar that’s twice as wide at this point.  Apparently when I’m working on stuff I can’t manage to get anything done without at least half a dozen windows open, and to be honest, I’m not a big fan of how Windows 7 handles this stuff. 

Some of the things in my life over which I have no control:

  • These days, it doesn’t matter where I go, I just have way too many cables.  Combine the usual cable mess that accompanies a modern desktop PC with all the various sync/charge cables I need for all the mobile devices I’m dealing with these days, and I’ve seen plates of spaghetti more organized than my desk, either at home or at work. And come to think of it, I haven’t heard from the expedition that wandered into the snakepit of cables behind my TV in a while.  Maybe I better send a search party…
  • The fact that the direction my life has taken recently has now made it necessary for me to carry around a man-purse.  Speaking of which, apparently I need a new one of those too, since the handle on the one I bought just a couple of months ago managed to break at a rather inconvenient time.  Then again, I paid $12 for the thing at the Eddie Bauer outlet, so I suppose I can’t complain too much.
  • The fact that the entire contents of my sock drawer have recently begun to self destruct at a rather alarming rate.  I could understand one or two socks ending up with a strategically placed hole here and there, but twelve pairs all at once?  If the socks really wanted out that badly you’d think it would be easier for them to just get themselves lost in the dryer or something…
  • The fact that I can’t seem to find a pair of jeans that manages to fit properly, not  fall apart if you so much as look at them funny or cost a ton of money.  It seems to be one of those “pick two” scenarios.  You can get jeans that fit reasonably well without being too expensive, but will rip to shreds under little more than muttered threatening, Jeans that don’t fall apart or cost too much, but just plain don’t fit (you’d be surprised how many different definitions of 36 x 30 various clothing manufacturers seem to come up with these days,) or jeans that stay together and fit right,  but come with a horrendous price tag.  Oh well, as long as the weather here holds out for a while, shorts season is just around the corner… 
  • The lawnmowers at my apartment complex  They fire up promptly at 8am on Monday mornings, and pretty much ruin any chance of sleep from then on.  Granted, my schedule these days has me waking up earlier than I used to, so I’m a lot less likely to be trying to sleep through the things these days, but I suspect that yard equipment is never particularly high on people’s lists of things they enjoy waking up to.  And the grounds here are fairly well kept too, so I suppose I can’t really complain too much.
Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

