The Sledgehammer – Version 2.0

June 3, 2010

It’s the Happiest Filler Post on Earth

Filed under: Random Stuff — Brian Lutz @ 12:53 am

 

I had fully intended to put together some sort of long detailed post on my Disneyland trip, but quite frankly, my attempts to do so have thus far yielded little besides alarming quantities of drivel.  Since I think that one’s got a pretty good chance of heading for the Draft Queue of Oblivion, I thought I’d share a few more pictures from the park here.  You’ll find these, and a little traveler’s brainteaser for you to solve, after the jump.

Sense:  This picture makes none.  I found this in some random Downtown Disney shop,  I get the sneaking suspicion someone was probably snorting the pixie dust at the time they came up with this.

Disneyland:  Serving up nightmare fuel since 1955.  I bet this giant Monstro head has kept its fair share of psychiatrists in business over the years.

Oh, by the way, have I mentioned the Single Rider lines?  Apparently nobody ever uses them.

And in the grammatical oddities department, there’s this sign, seen at some random food stand in California Adventure.  Usually I’ll leave quotation mark “abuse” to other Blogs, but something tells me that paying $2.79 for a “Large Bag” of chips might not be the most cost-effective use of my money.  I half-suspect the quotes resulted from some “settlement”…

As final testing and tweaking wraps up on the World of Color show in preparation for its debut in a couple of weeks, we see what is sure to be a rare sight in the coming years:  The equipment for the show at its maintenance level in the Paradise Pier lagoon.  Most of the time this will all be submerged in the lagoon, but if this is any indication of the complexity involved, something tells me World of Color is going to be one heck of a show…

If you look hard enough, you’ll see that even Disney isn’t immune to the need for the occasional duct tape fix.  Well OK, it’s actually gaffer tape, but still…

Ah, cartoon characters and dangerous sharp objects, a perfect combination for hilarity and/or mayhem.  I’d just recommend admiring such things at a safe distance though, you never know when these two are just going to snap.  Believe me, it’s not going to be pretty when they do.

Hey, we’ve all got to let off a little steam every once in a while, right?  It’s interesting to note that even though the oldest of Disneyland’s steam engines dates back to 1894, the trains are now being operated on biodiesel, including waste cooking oil from the parks themselves. 

Here’s a little vacation challenge I ran into the evening before heading home:  In a number of gift shops at the resort there are these buttons, which play sounds ranging from a Mickey Mouse “Oh Boy!” button to this Queen of Hearts “Off With Your Head!” button, which I purchased on my last evening (I half considered getting my boss one, but I think he might be half-tempted to use it.)  After bringing it back to the room and messing with it a bit, it soon occurred to me that Not only was the thing thoroughly obnoxious, but that somehow I was going to have to get the thing home in carry-on luggage.  Quite frankly, the prospect of having my luggage threaten beheadings as it passed through the security checkpoint at the airport didn’t sound like the kind of thing that would be particularly helpful in making my flight on time, so I needed to figure out some way to disable this. 

The thing is powered by two AA batteries, which are held in place by this screw on the battery door.  Normally this would not be a problem, but since I was traveling out of a carry-on bag only with items that I could get through a TSA checkpoint with minimal hassle, a screwdriver was not readily available at the time.  So given this scenario and the typical contents of an average hotel room, what would you do to disable this and get it through the checkpoint without any beheadings?   The answer will be posted separately in a day or two.

Finally, a few more pictures, submitted without comment.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

