The Sledgehammer – Version 2.0

June 6, 2010

Three Years and Still Hammering Away (Sort of)

Filed under: Site Stuff — Tags: — Brian Lutz @ 3:18 pm

On June 6th 2007, this Blog was first created.  Somehow, three years later, this Blog is still around.  Although I have definitely been slacking a bit (well OK, a lot) on the Blogging lately, I’m trying to make sure that I keep posting at least frequently enough to keep the site from drifting too far off into oblivion.  As might be expected to result from a relatively low post volume, site traffic has been down somewhat lately, although it remains fairly steady at its current levels.  I suspect the fact that I have wandered a bit recently from the local interest coverage has something to do with this as well.  Although spending most of my days in Seattle tends to make it a bit tough to do too much stuff here on the Eastside these days, I do intend to try to get back into Redmond, Kirkland and Bellevue a bit more, and to try to spend a bit more time in the newspaper archives as well since I haven’t had much opportunity to do that recently.  Since I’ve finally replaced my old cell phone and its blur-o-riffic camera with a decidedly less blurry one (apparently someone at HTC finally figured out that focusing is a good thing) so I might actually be able to use it every once in a while without getting results that look like an explosion at the Vaseline factory.  I’ll have more on that in an upcoming post (assuming I don’t write 90% of it and leave it rotting in the drafts folder, that is.)

I’ll have more on that a bit later in another post, but in the meantime, I’ve put together the usual statistical overview of the site at this point in time, as seen below.  These stats are done mostly for my own benefit, so I can go back and use this info to track the growth (or otherwise) of the site.  I also like to have this data around because largely meaningless stats are fun, right?  Anyway, here you go:

 Statistics:

  • Total posts (including this one:) 426
  • Posts since June 6th 2009:  87
  • Posts since January 1st 2010: 33
  • Total Comments: 662
  • Total hits since June 6th 2007:  140,450
  • Total hits since January 1st  2010: 23,822
  • Total hits since June 6th 2009: 55,090

Top 10 most viewed posts (Last year):

Retail Wasteland – A Tour of the Totem Lake Mall 6,143
Sampling the Whitman’s Sampler: A Guide to America’s Favorite Box of Enigmatic Chocolates  3,080
Classical Gas – Abandoned Route 66 Gas Stations 2,457
Malls of the Seattle Area: A Tour of the Factoria Mall 2,204
The Redmond Costco Moves Forward 2,166
A Tour of Crossroads Bellevue – Part 1: The Mall 1,636
My Very Nearly Award-Winning Chili Recipe, and Other Deep Dark Secrets 1,277
Malls of the Seattle Area: A Tour of The Everett Mall 1,249
A Brief Tour of the Bellevue Galleria, Bungie’s Future Home 1,068
An Early Look at the New Redmond Center 893

Once again, I would like to thank everyone who visits my site either regularly or occasionally, and I hope you will continue to do so in the future.

1 Comment »

  1. Hey Brian,

    Wow! Three years. Congratulations!

    I have enjoyed following your work and you are an asset to the community. Your work on documenting the Eastside’s past is truly one of a kind.
    Let’s do some more collaboration.

    Cheers,

    Rob

    Comment by Rob Butcher — June 10, 2010 @ 10:50 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

