The Sledgehammer – Version 2.0

July 18, 2010

Photo Dump: But is it Art?

Filed under: Random Stuff — Brian Lutz @ 12:24 am

Bit of a sudden stop there?

Still knee-deep in packing up stuff and getting ready to move, and at the same time trying to fight off a couple of projects at work that just keep rising from the dead every time I think I finally manage to get them finished off.  Since I’m pretty sure most of you out there are starting to get sick of everything here being related to moving, I’ll just throw out a few more random photos I’ve got on my phone from the last couple of weeks, complete with the requisite snarky commentary.   As usual, you’ll find these after the jump.  Remember, once I’m settled into my new place I’m going to be living a block from the Bellevue Library, which should make it a lot easier to get over there and spend time in the newspaper archives.  In the meantime, you’ll find the rest of this stuff after the jump.

For some reason, even though I’m years removed from high school (if I was inclined to go, my 15-year high school reunion would be next year) and I am years away from having any school-aged children (I’m starting to wonder if that’s more of an “if” than a “when,) it always seems to bug me a bit when the Summer stuff is already on clearance a week after the Fourth of July to make room for a truckload or two of school supplies.  On the other hand, when you’ve got stuff like this, you start to think they just may have a point.  This thing, basically a giant water-powered rocket, just looks like a head injury waiting to happen.

Elsewhere in the dubious childhood Summer entertainment department is this giant magnifier…  Or at least that’s how they pass the thing off.  Of course anyone who ever had one of these things while they were growing up knows that you really use these things for burning stuff.  Yes, you CAN magnify things with one of these if you happen to be so inclined, but that’s not the point.  Then again, how the heck would you convince Mom to get you one if it was called the Mega Incinerator?

 

In the dubious accomplishments category for this past week, we have this.  We were having some clients come in for some meetings, so in an effort to spruce up the place a bit, we had our art guys put together “movie posters” for a couple of our recent projects and got them professionally printed and framed.  This is the poster for our Beavis and Butt-Head iPhone and iPad apps.  I think the results turned out pretty nice, although I was a bit surprised to see this:

Admittedly the assignment of names to roles on this was just a tad arbitrary, but I suppose I’ll take it.  Now who do I have to talk to in order to get myself into IMDB?  Then again, I think I’ve already got enough delusions of grandeur to go around right now, so I should probably pass on that one.

 

Anyway, now that the weather has finally decided to settle down into something resembling a typical Seattle summer, it’s natural for people to want to get away from the desk and spend some time outside.   As you can see, some people will do whatever it takes to get outside, even if it means bringing a whole desktop PC setup along and setting it up in Occidental park, as this guy has done.

Elsewhere in the park we have another of the random performance art pieces that seem to show up here a lot.  Basically, there’s some sort of giant lace canopy, a red “carpet” (which appears to actually be paper)  and some lady in a Victorian dress walking up and down with a book in hand.  so what could this possibly all mean?

To be honest I’m still not sure, but whatever it is, Leo Tolstoy does not approve of your lack of art appreciation.  Basically, it sounds like a reading of War and Peace being made even more difficult than it is in the first place (I think I made it about 300 pages into the book on my one attempt to read it.)  There’s a few more details here, but even then I’m still a tad confused.  You can also find a readable version of the flyer above here.

As usual, with all the art galleries in the area, a walk through Pioneer Square will always expose one to a fair bit of artwork of varying degrees of quality.  I’m not sure who’s responsible for this one, but I suspect that lady is really frustrated by her apparent inability to devour her own hair.

There’s also plenty of art to go around on this side of the lake as well, with the annual Bellevue Arts Fair taking place next week, and the annual Sculptures in the Park exhibits in place at Bellevue’s Downtown Park.  Perhaps the most interesting of the pieces on display this year is this kinetic sculpture, which either happens to not be functioning right now, or has incurred the wrath of a particularly vicious art critic.

Finally, on a visit to the friendly neighborhood orange-themed home improvement store, I passed by the plumbing department and found this thing (whatever it is) being passed off as a sink.  Aside from the fact that this thing just looks like it provides about fifteen different ways to unceremoniously dump the entire flow from the faucet onto your bathroom floor (consideration for the basic function of the device in question is usually the first thing to go out the window when designers start getting ideas in their head,) there’s the pricetag, which puts this thing easily into the price range of a number of high-end kitchen appliances (and that’s just the sink, the faucet by itself is nearly $500.)   And when all is said and done you’ve got something with about half the functionality you can get out a product that costs 1/15th of the price of this one.  But at least it’ll look pretty, right?

2 Comments »

  1. Brian,

    I would like to introduce myself and, if you are interested, I would love to have the opportunity to meet you in a month or so.

    I manage a real estate mutual fund for a large Boston-based money management firm (not Fidelity, but sort of like them on a smaller scale), and from time to time I travel around the country to tour properties and meet with local representatives of the REITs that I invest in. In late August (specifically on the 25th and 26th) I will be in Seattle to do this sort of a research trip. I stumbled onto your posts about Factoria, Totem, and other malls in the area and found them to be very interesting. Both of these properties are owned by companies that I follow, that being Kimco and DDR, respectively. I would definitely find it worthwhile to pick your brain about the retail real estate scene in Seattle, and you might find it interesting to learn how an insititional investor like me thinks about the world. If you are interested in talking further please contact me at the email address listed above. I don’t want to put my full work contact info in this note, but would be happy to provide more info off-line if you would like.

    Thanks for your consideration,

    Scott

    Comment by J Scott Craig — July 20, 2010 @ 12:22 pm

    • Scott,

      Thanks for the note. As requested, I will reply offline.

      -Brian

      Comment by Brian Lutz — July 21, 2010 @ 1:43 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

