The Sledgehammer – Version 2.0

July 29, 2010

A Change of Scenery

Filed under: Random Stuff — Brian Lutz @ 1:14 am

For the past five years, this is roughly the view that I have had out my bedroom window when I woke up in the mornings.  All things considered, there are plenty of worse things than this that one could have than a decent sized field of well-maintained grass outside the window, but it’s certainly not the type of view you’d exactly be seeking out.  The big tree and the surrounding buildings also have a bit of a tendency to block out a lot of the light that might otherwise reach the window, which ultimately left this place frequently lacking in the sunlight department.  Eventually you get used to this though, and before long this view tends to fade out into the background, being further obscured by the shades and curtains surrounding the window.

This is even more the case when looking out the window of the den on the other side of the building, with its somewhat less-than-inspiring views of the parking lot.  I will say that during the Springtime those bushes did produce some nice looking orange and pink flowers to provide at least some occasional color that didn’t come in the form of auto paint (or the occasional red-and-blue lights of a police officer pulling over some random speeder on 148th, as this seems to be a popular spot for this type of thing), but once again, there just wasn’t a whole lot to see out there.  Needless to say, during the time that I lived here I didn’t exactly make a habit of spending a bunch of time staring out the windows.  I suspect that this won’t be the case with the new place that I just moved into on Saturday. 

Attending an Elders Quorum in my church provides no shortage of opportunities to move people in and out of houses and apartments of various sizes, so I’ve got a fair bit of experience with this type of thing, although I haven’t exactly made a habit of packing up all my stuff and moving on a regular basis (or much at all, for that matter) so this was a bit of a new experience in that regard.  Fortunately I had plenty of help from my Dad, my brothers Jared and Terence, and a friend who inexplicably thought it would be fun to haul my stuff around for several hours on a Saturday morning.  To be honest, I still have a fair bit of stuff that I still need to unpack (as I had suspected and/or feared, my carefully concocted floor plan I had spent hours devising went out the proverbial window the minute I actually got into the place, so I have to do a bit more planning and/or returning back to the drawing board to do before I finalize things) but the vast majority of my stuff made it here in one piece, and the process of settling into the new place is well underway.  I have also managed to get rid of the two big items that I don’t have room  for here (the big Ikea desk in the den, which I intend to replace with a similar yet much smaller one, and the arcade cabinet) which takes care of my two biggest worries related to the move.  I’ve still got a fair bit of work to do here (and a relatively small amount of final cleanup on the other end) before everything’s completed, but at least I can see it from here.

The move was not without its casualties though.  I am actually typing this post on an el cheapo keyboard obtained from one of the local Fred Meyer stores at about 10:00 a couple of evenings ago.  For some inexplicable reason my big fancy Logitech G11 keyboard decided to stop recognizing a few small but surprisingly vital keystrokes, rendering the whole thing basically useless.  At some point I need to get another decent keyboard, but that might be a while off.  In the meantime, I still have a fair bit of unpacking that needs to be done, and a few things that I still need to get (including a new desk to replace the old one that I have now sold off),  but I’d like to think I’ve made at least some decent progress on getting settled in.  Right now, it’s looking like the big issue here is going to be storage space though.    I think I’ve found places for most of the stuff now, but apparently whoever designed this place decided that little cabinets look better than big ones, so that leaves a few less hiding places for things than I’d really like.  There’s definitely going to be a bit of adjusting required here, but then again, I do also have this view out the windows:

I’d say I can probably put up with an inconvenience or two for a view like that.  If nothing else, it’s a bit of an improvement over looking at a parking lot all day.

2 Comments »

  1. That is a pretty sweet view, I am excited to see it this weekend! My favorite part was the part about,”a few small but surprisingly vital keystrokes” you are so funny Brian.

    Comment by Heather Lively — July 29, 2010 @ 7:26 am

  2. elements?

    Comment by mike — July 29, 2010 @ 9:52 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

