The Sledgehammer – Version 2.0

August 24, 2010

Fun With Insomnia: In which “Fun” turns out to be somewhat subjective

Filed under: Random Stuff — Brian Lutz @ 4:23 am

Once again it’s 4am, which is a time at which even with my persistent night owl tendencies I  usually prefer to be asleep.  As tends to happen every once in a while, things don’t seem to be going quite according to plan, and in fact sleep is proving rather elusive at this point.  This, of course, means it’s time for another one of these semi-coherent Fun with Insomnia posts that seem to show up here on these occasions, barely remembered in the morning.  All things considered, I do suppose there are plenty of worse things to wake up to than a semi-coherent late night Blog post.  From what I’ve seen, chronicling the consequences of various people’s all-night drinking binges for the amusement of random strangers seems to have become something of a cottage industry on the Internet over the last couple of years (although judging from how long Maury Povich has been on the air, I’m pretty sure the whole thing is a lot older than we think.)  Besides, my late-night escapades generally tend to be limited to such things as lying awake in bed trying to sleep through some combination of a) uncomfortably warm temperatures (as people who have known me for long enough can attest, my opinions regarding ambient temperature seem to be invalid for… well, pretty much anyone except myself really);  b) worrying about things I probably don’t need to be worrying about in the first place (I seem to have no shortage of these lately); or c) a brain that just doesn’t want to cooperate with anything.  It seems to be one of those things I’ve had to learn to deal with, and something I have to fight on a daily basis. 

For as long as I can remember I’ve been told that I have well above average intelligence, which isn’t generally the type of claim one would tend to dispute.  I mean, how would you even go about disputing a claim like that?   Would you publically claim to be as dumb as at least three or four boxes of rocks?  Usually having an assertion like that made in public requires one to go into politics.  Ihe problem I seem to have with this type of thing is that whenever I try to actually focus on a particular task, frequently my brain tends to generate a lot of static.  I don’t have a problem coming up with ideas.  In fact, I’ve got more of those than I could possibly ever figure out what to do with.  It’s just trying to do anything with any of those ideas that’s the problem.  Being easily distracted probably doesn’t help much with this either.  Either way, it makes it a lot more difficult for me to get things done than I’d really like it to be.  Then again, if I have clearly defined tasks and goals to work with, this tends to be a lot less of a problem.  It’s just getting those tasks and goals together into one place that’s the tricky part.

Anyway, I don’t know what any of this has to do with anything really, but of the various actions I can take which lead to regret in the morning, this is probably one of the milder ones.  It’s also a lot easier to delete too, should the need arise (and given my Blog readership, I suspect that this will end up being read by all of seven people anyway.)  At least this one doesn’t leave any drunken hangover photos for people to stick on Failblog…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

