The Sledgehammer – Version 2.0

October 7, 2010

Random Thoughts: Falling Into Fall, Going for a Swim

Filed under: Random Stuff — Brian Lutz @ 12:30 am

As usually seems to be the case when I write these things, I once again offer apologies for the lack of much posting lately.  Although I’ve been dealing with a number of issues, the primary one being that I have once again found myself looking for a job, although I’m hoping to have that situation resolved again shortly.  The truth of the matter is that for the most part, I’ve just been a really really boring person lately.  I’ve got some stuff I’ve been working on (including a Halloween kitsch roundup, which I haven’t ever done here mostly because I usually just skip Halloween) and there’s the usual detritus that tends to get reserved for the photo dump posts, but in terms of coming up with vaguely interesting stuff to write about, I’ve mostly been drawing a blank lately.  Oh, and there’s also the fact that I’m probably spending too much of my free time lately messing around with Minecraft, a ridiculously addictive little indie game that puts you in a big blocky world where you can mine for materials underground and use it to build all sorts of cool structures (I’ll probably be talking about a little bit more about that in some future posts.)  In the meantime, I’ll throw up a couple of semi-coherent thoughts to try to keep the cobwebs to a minimum.

—-

Even though I haven’t quite relegated the shorts and the sandals to the back of the closet just yet, it’s pretty clear that Fall is settling in on the land.  As I’ve discussed before in a post I did here a couple of years ago (link), You don’t just wake up one day and find that all of the leaves on the trees have turned yellow.  It’s all a rather gradual process, and so far most of the trees are just barely beginning to turn.  Sure, you get a few types of trees that seem anxious to get the whole abscission mess out of the way as quick as possible so they can get a head start on the Winter of dormancy, but most trees seem to linger on for a while, dropping off a few leaves here and there until they eventually run out.  People, on the other hand, seem to be largely indifferent to the advent of Fall on the calendar.  Both Summer and Winter have their various sets of fans, and most people tend to welcome the presence of Spring (mostly because they’re starting to get really sick of Winter by that time,) but I think you’d be hard pressed to find too many Fall enthusiasts out there.  Sure, you do have Halloween and Thanksgiving to look forward to, the electric bills usually go down for a couple of months since you usually need a lot less heating and cooling, and you do have to admit that the Fall foliage is nice to look at while it’s around, but aside from a small group of corn maze and pumpkin patch enthusiasts, I don’t think you’re going to find a whole lot of people out there who look forward to the coming of Fall.  I suspect most people tend to spend their Fall either dreading the impending return of Winter or wishing that it would just hurry up and get here already.  Either way, the combination of comparatively mild winters (although the predictions are calling for a colder than usual Winter here this year, and possibly more than our usual share of severe weather) and generally crummy November weather around here means that most of the Fall is pretty much indistinguishable from Winter anyway.  Either way, all I know is that we’ve got quite a way to go before Spring shows up.

Then again, one of the nicer perks of my current Downtown Bellevue residence is the fact that it includes an indoor pool, which allows at least one typical Summer activity to take place outside of the Summer months.  Based on my observations when I was searching for apartments in Downtown, a pool actually seems to be much more the exception than the rule around Downtown.  At more than one place I was told that the lack of a pool was considered “Green”.  While I can see the water usage and energy costs being a factor, it almost sounds like an excuse when it’s put that way (I tend to be a bit skeptical about the whole “Green” movement anyway, so take that with the appropriate grain of salt.)  Other places just don’t seem to have the space to put one anywhere, and just don’t bring the subject up.  My previous apartment complex had a pool as well, but as is the case with the vast majority of these, it was an outdoor pool, which meant that it was really only usable for three months out of the year.  And of course, anytime the weather was hot enough to warrant swimming, practically everybody else in the complex got the same idea at the same time, meaning that the pool would be full of kids.  As a single guy, this makes it especially difficult to find a decent time to go for a swim.  I’m reasonably certain that I don’t look too suspicious, but there seems to be enough paranoia about that type of thing these days that someone would probably have an issue with it.  All in all, this meant that I was rarely able to go swimming there.  In fact, I’ve probably gone swimming more times already at the pool here than I did at the old place. 

Interestingly enough, when I’ve been swimming here, I’ve noticed a bit of an interesting phenomenon.  For the most part, I rarely see other people using the pool, at least during the times that I’m there.  What I do see is that when I’m swimming, quite often a couple of  people will come into the pool area, show off the pool to someone, then walk out.  I’ll usually be hanging out at the other end of the pool while they’re doing this so I can’t necessarily hear their conversations, but the impression I seem to get is that people seem to look at a pool in a place like this as more of a curiosity than as a functioning pool.  This makes no sense to me because it is actually quite a nice pool, and although it’s a little shallower than most pools of that size (they have to allow for commercial space on the floor below) it’s still nice to be able to go swimming whenever I want.  And in at least some small way, it should hopefully make the Winter a bit more tolerable.

2 Comments »

  1. Not gonna lie… Fall might be my favorite season. And I think spring might be my second favorite. I guess I like the changing seasons but not so much the cold and hot ones. That’s pretty funny that no one uses the pool. We are going to be in Redmond this weekend. I really want to come by and see your cool new apartment!

    Comment by Heather Lively — October 7, 2010 @ 7:50 am

  2. Good luck on your job search!

    Comment by Eddie — October 7, 2010 @ 4:39 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

