The Sledgehammer – Version 2.0

January 9, 2011

Fun with Insomnia: Tired and/or Wired

Filed under: Random Stuff — Tags: , , — Brian Lutz @ 3:10 am

Well, once again it’s 2:30 in the morning, and as usual, I really should be asleep right now.  Unfortunately, my brain is making it quite clear that sleep isn’t on the agenda, which means that it’s time for another of my soon to be infamous Fun with Insomnia posts.  For those of you just joining us, the Fun with Insomnia is a category of posts that pops up here every once in a while when I find myself up way past my already notoriously late bedtime, often involuntarily.  Most of the time this results in various forms of incoherent drivel (even more so than usual) and stuff that I should probably just be hitting the delete button on, but somehow end up posting anyway.  So if the whole thing comes across as being a bit of a dashed-off mess, well then that’s probably the point.

I’ve actually had a blank one of these things sitting in my drafts queue for a while awaiting a day when it would become necessary.  Ultimately it would be nice if I could just get to sleep when I want to like a normal sane human being would (I’ve never really been able to do that, but at least I can sleep without too much trouble most of the time) but every so often, I just find myself so wired for one reason or another that it’s clear that I need to do something to burn off some energy if I have any intention of sleeping.  This seems to be one of those times;  If I had to make a guess I’d say it was probably the cake and ice cream from my nephew Corey’s birthday party this evening that did it.  As I’m sure I’ve noted before on here, I’ve now all but completely eliminated caffeine from my diet, as I find that I can’t drink any amount of the stuff without it keeping me up half the night.  In fact, I think it’s been nearly a year since I last had a can of Coke.  The reason that I can remember that is because when I had it, I quickly found myself in a state that could, in obscure medical terms, be most accurately described as “Bouncing off the Walls” and/or “out of my flippin’ mind” (I’d provide citations for these, but I’m pretty sure those don’t show up in the DSM IV unless you buy your copy out of the trunk of some guy’s car.)  The fact that at the time I was testing the Beavis and Butt-Head iPhone app and being subjected to a constant stream of Cornholio quotes (none of which bear repeating here) probably wasn’t helping my mental state much.  Then again, there are those people out there (including Patrick Stewart, best known as Captain Picard on Star Trek: The Next Generation) who actually consider the show to be culturally significant in some strange way, so perhaps said app will end up being my most significant contribution to human civilization.  I really hope that this doesn’t end up being the case…

Anyway, this isn’t the first time I’ve found myself unable to sleep, and I’m pretty sure it won’t be the last.  In fact, I’ve all but scheduled one of these for when I’m flying out for the cruise in March on an overnight redeye flight.  I’ve pretty well established the fact by now that I am all but completely incapable of sleeping on an airplane, and when this is combined with time zone changes of three hours it all but guarantees a lovely little sleepless night, resulting in what I’m sure will be an entertaining (for someone anyway, probably not me) combination of insomnia, sleep deprivation AND jet lag.  I fully expect to find myself in a state that the above mentioned diagnostic manual would probably describe as “Loopy as heck,” so that should be an interesting little post when it comes around.  In the meantime, I should probably go try to sleep again.  Maybe I’ll be 23% less wired this time around.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

