The Sledgehammer – Version 2.0

January 17, 2011

Fun with Insomnia, and a Side of Hypochondria

Filed under: Fun With Insomnia — Brian Lutz @ 2:39 am

(Note:  Yeah, I’m up way too late and probably babbling incoherently again.  Unless you somehow enjoy this type of stuff, skip to the last paragraph or so for something that might be vaguely interesting.)

Once again it’s 2am, I’m wide awake, and that means it’s time for yet another of my soon-to-be-infamous Fun With Insomnia posts.  I should probably apologize in advance for writing so many of these things since I’m pretty sure most of the people reading this Blog are here for something besides semi-coherent late night ramblings.  But keep in mind that this IS the Internet we’re dealing with here, which means that 90% of everything is crud (in much the same way that 90% of everything in real life is crud, and yes, there is a law for that.)  I suspect there’s not a whole lot I can do about 90% of everything being crud, but with hard work (sort of) and dedication (eventually) I think I might eventually be able to get this particular Blog down to only 87% crud.  It’s posts like this one that will help make sure that turns out to be a very, very, very long process.  I’m guessing that this is a pretty lousy way to get myself to sleep, but it’s at least moderately less lousy than some of the other alternatives, and it even works occasionally.

With as long as I’ve been a night owl, being up at 2am really isn’t that unusual for me, although I’m sure if anyone else was living here I’d probably have driven them nuts with this whole routine years ago.  Then again, even though I’m up way past most sane people’s bedtimes, it seems to be one of those things where at least it’s consistent, and if I can manage to get to sleep I have no problem staying asleep.  Keeping in mind the various caveats associated with trying to self-diagnose one’s problems on the Internet, a bit of recent reading has led me to wonder if what I have isn’t just plain old insomnia, but a case of Delayed Sleep Phase Syndrome.  In a nutshell, it’s a condition where someone’s sleep cycles seem to be perpetually off by a significant margin from what would be considered normal, but if one is allowed follow their “adjusted” cycle they can generally function normally.  The problem for most people with this condition is that they’re expected to function on what would be considered a normal cycle for most people, and have trouble doing so.  I don’t match all the symptoms, but do match enough of these that it might be something to consider.  Either way, I find that in the field I work in later schedules tend to be more the rule than the exception, and as long as I don’t need to be in too early I’m generally OK to get through the day.  Even if getting to sleep does take an occasional incoherent Blog post or two.

Anyway, if you somehow made it through all that without being put to sleep yourself (which is kind of the point of the whole exercise really,) I offer my congratulations and/or apologies.  In terms of more typical Blog content, I’ve noted recently that there seems to be a surge of interest in the subject of the Totem Lake Mall, presumably as a result of recent coverage in the Kirkland Reporter.  With the resources of a professional newsroom (as well as direct access to the stuff I can only get on blurry microfilm,)  they have been able to perform much more through historical research and come up with much better copies of the various photos than I’ve been able to find in my own research, as well as several I hadn’t seen before.  I’ll have more to say on this later, but if you haven’t seen it yet I would highly recommend a visit to the first article in what is intended to be a six-part series on the history of Totem Lake Mall.  I really need to go in and update my various Mall posts (which, in spite of my relative lack of activity on the topic recently, remain some of the most popular posts on this Blog) since there’s been quite a bit of activity (in some cases) since I originally wrote them.  Watch for these soon.  If I don’t fall asleep first, that is.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

