The Sledgehammer – Version 2.0

February 4, 2011

Random Thoughts: Gone to the Dogs

Filed under: Random Stuff — Brian Lutz @ 2:24 pm

image

As evidenced by the photo above (assuming it actually managed to upload somehow, the Photobucket app on my phone was being finicky so I had to try uploading to WordPress instead) I am once again dog sitting for Imola and Minardi this evening. This time it’s only a one day stint since my parents are out visiting my sister in Pullman, and the dogs are actually behaving pretty well so far. Normally around this time i’d have a week and a half (give or take a day or two) penciled in for an extended dog sitting stint coming up while my Mom and Dad cruise off to some sunny tropical destination, but somewhere along the line I got some crazy idea about actually going on this one, which means that around this time seven weeks from now I will most likely be flying somewhere over Utah en route to Fort Lauderdale, composing what is sure to be an epic Fun With Insomnia post. Believe me, you won’t want to miss this one. Actually, scratch that, you probably will. but still…

Anyway, given the choice between Blogging and watching old Benny Hill reruns on some channel my TiVo has carefully prevented me from ever acknowledging the existence of, it looks like you get this. I’m typing on my iPad again, so nonsensical autocorrected words are, as usual, the fault of the equipment. So, without further ado, a few random thoughts:

* I’m too lazy to try to figure out how to do proper HTML markup on the iPad WordPress app, which means you’ll have to settle for asterisks for now. Maybe if I find myself sufficiently appalled by my incoherent grammar and spelling later I’ll fix these.

*Ironically, the Android version of the WordPress app seems to be a lot better at handling this stuff than the iPad version. Too bad the soft keyboard on my phone sucks like a Dyson in an electrical storm for typing anything with more than eleven words in it.

*Upon checking, it turns out there’s an update to the iOS WordPress app, but the App Store requires jumping through about half a zillion hoops any time I want to download anything. And the updated app really doesn’t actually do much anything but fix bugs I never run into.

*I suppose if I was a little bit less lazy I could go grab the notebook PC from upstairs and just use that. Come to think of it…

  • (about 5 minutes later, from the notebook) Ahh, much better.    Well OK, more like marginally better, but better nonetheless.  Seriously, how the heck can anybody manage to type on one of those blasted things for more than five minutes at a time?
  • Which reminds me, I still need to try to get one of the wireless keyboards for the iPad before I go on the cruise.  I’ve been meaning to get one, but I’ve been putting it off since I’ve found that I’m slightly allergic to paying $70 for a keyboard, and less slightly allergic to giving money to Apple.  Even so, I really don’t feel like I should be taking a notebook on the boat.  Even though cruise ships all have Internet these days (for a slightly exorbitant fee, of course) I really could use to spend some time not being glued to a computer. 
  • Oh, and speaking of cruises, I’ve already booked another one, just a few weeks after the first one.  Well, to be honest it’s not really a cruise per se, just a 1-night trip on the Sapphire Princess from Vancouver to Seattle.  Owing to the vagaries of an obscure Maritime law from the 1870s known as the Passenger Vessel services Act, a non US-flagged ship is not allowed to provide one-way service between two US ports without a stop in a distant foreign port (with “Distant” in this case meaning somewhere in South America, which isn’t exactly the type of thing you want to be doing when you’re trying to get a ship from LA to Seattle for the Alaska cruise season.)  This means that even though the Sapphire Princess sails out of Seattle for its Alaska cruises, getting the ship there requires sailing it up to Vancouver, disembarking all the passengers, then sailing down to Seattle in a separate voyage with a separate set of passengers.  Fortunately that second trip is pretty cheap for a night on a cruise ship, and through a bit of a loophole  in the Princess Captain’s Circle program, I can get credit for 2 trips with just one day on the boat, meaning I’ll be at Platinum status for the next cruise I take after that.   Sure, I’ll be the fakest Platinum Captain’s Circle member in the fleet (and when I go on my next cruise after that the Captain will probably come down to my stateroom and tell me to be sure to drink my Ovaltine) but even besides that, it’s a night on a cruise ship, complete with a fancy dinner.  And it’s practically right in my backyard too.  And, assuming they decide to go, my sisters and their husbands should be along for the ride too. 
  • Aside from a couple of moderate and relatively short-lived snowstorms, the Winter has really been pretty boring around here so far.  Granted, there’s still another month and a half of Winter to go, and the only reason Punxutawney Phil didn’t see his shadow was that he was probably buried under roughly twelve feet of snow, but at this point it seems a tad unlikely we’re going to get much in the way of Snowpocalyptic disasters anytime in the remaining Winter months.  With the way the weather’s been on the other side of the country though, I wouldn’t be too surprised if when I do go on the cruise it’s 75 and sunny the whole time up here, and we hit a blizzard on St. Thomas.
  • I thought I’d do better with writing this on the notebook instead of the iPad, but the WiFi seems to keep cutting out on this one.  It’s my work notebook (since I am supposed to be working this weekend to finish up the testing for the current sprint) so I’ll just invoke rule number 1, and always blame the equipment.
  • On that note, I should probably get on to doing something a bit more productive with my time (like, for example, sleeping)and wrap this up here.  Have a good weekend, dog-free or otherwise.
  • Oh, and incidentally, there’s a lot more typos in the stuff I wrote on the notebook than in the stuff I wrote on the iPad when I spell check this.  Go figure…
Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

