The Sledgehammer – Version 2.0

February 24, 2011

Random Thoughts: Slightly Under the Weather, Need More Input

Filed under: Random Stuff, Technology, weather — Brian Lutz @ 2:11 am

It took a bit longer than it was expected to (just long enough for the usual mess of overheated Internet commenters to whip themselves into a frenzy blaming the weather forecasters for all the social evils they haven’t already blamed on the Republican Party earlier,) but it looks like we finally have some decent snow going here again.  Although with my walkable commute it doesn’t really make a whole lot of difference to me how bad the roads are (as long as I don’t slip in the middle of a frozen crosswalk and get plowed into by some jackknifing semi I don’t get affected much by road conditions these days.)  A trip to the supermarket a couple of evenings ago means that I’ve got just about enough food in the house to make it to the Spring Thaw, and if it came down to that point I could probably walk to the supermarket if I really needed to.  For the most part I just leave the car parked down in the garage when the weather starts getting dubious these days, but I don’t actually think my car would have too much trouble driving in this weather anyway if I conveniently ignore the usual traffic messes that result from this type of thing.  The snow was also nice enough to conveniently wait until I got home from work to start, which means that most of the evening commute was done by then, and even then, it didn’t start actually sticking to the roads until a couple of hours after that.  Based on what I’m seeing out the window right now I’m guessing we haven’t got more than an inch or two.  I suppose if I wasn’t lazy I’d actually go down to street level and check, but that “if I wasn’t lazy” part seems to be the big hangup for that plan right now.  I suppose that surviving this type of weather would be the type of thing that would build character if I wasn’t conveniently staying out of it here in my high and lofty perch and contemplating whether or not I want to take the opportunity to go swimming at 2am in the middle of a snowstorm just because I can.  I think the answer to that is  probably not, since I still have to work tomorrow and even the weather doesn’t really make a good excuse not to be there when you’re two blocks away. 

Anyway, while the snow keeps falling outside, a few random thoughts:

  • In the corner of that photo is a gift certificate for a free pizza from Mod Pizza that I need to figure out some way to give away.  I won one from a trivia question on Twitter, but due to a mix-up in the mail I ended up with two.  I’ll probably come up with something in the next couple of days, so watch for this in an upcoming post.
  • You’ll probably get sick of hearing me talk about this soon enough, but the cruise is now about 4 1/2 weeks away, and to be honest I haven’t got much to wear for it right now.  Which I suppose would be fine if I was going to go spend the trip hanging out on Orient Beach in St. Martin, but I hear the dining rooms on the ship tend to frown upon nudity, so I should probably do some clothes shopping between now and then.
  • Even with the snow outside, it looks like there’s still construction work going on right now out on 405.  Of all the people who might take a day off for weather you’d think they’d be pretty high on the list as far as having a legitimate excuse goes.  I suppose as long as you’re equipped for it snow might actually be somewhat easier to work in than rain.
  • I’ve still got the leftover sheets of acrylic from the Christmas ornament project in November sitting next to the desk here, presumably on the basis that I might theoretically find some use for the stuff again at some point. 
  • About a week ago the right button on the mouse on my desktop PC decided to stop working, and had to be replaced.  It’s one of those things that just fades into the background and rarely gets noticed until something breaks, then it turns into a borderline crisis.  When you reach that point, it’s usually a bad idea to order a replacement online and go for the cheapest shipping you can get away with in order to save a few bucks, then spend the next six days dealing with a broken mouse.  Not that I’d ever do something like that…  *whistles innocently*
  • Come to think it, I’m still using the el cheapo keyboard  I bought as a stopgap when the fancy ominously glowing Logitech keyboard I had previously decided to bite the dust, and planned to replace as soon as possible.  But then that requires shopping for a keyboard, and we all know how much fun that turns out to be.  I’m really not too picky about this type of thing, but most keyboards are either cheap garbage (as seems to be the case with this one,) have “features” that do more to hinder their usefulness than to enhance it, or just plain cost way too much money in the first place.  I suppose one of these days I should really do something about this, but I’ll probably wait for this one to provide some convenient excuse to replace it first.
  • Speaking of keyboards, I’ve been meaning to pick one up for the iPad before I go on the trip so I can actually type on it, but the more I think about it, the more I’m starting to think that an iPad isn’t really the right solution to the problem I’m trying to solve here.  Don’t get me wrong, it’s a device that has its purpose (and serves that purpose well) but the more I think about it, the more I’m inclined to believe that it’s a great device for reading things, but a really lousy device to create things on.  As an alternative, I’ve been looking at some of the various subnotebooks (stuff in the 12-14″ screen size range)  out on the market, and finding that the one perfect device for everything I’d want to do with one of these pretty much doesn’t exist right now, but there are some that are fairly close (particularly some of the Asus and HP models.)  I have yet to see a netbook that I could stand to use for any length of time, and the Android tablets seem to be some distance out still and saddled with high pricetags and ridiculous carrier restrictions.  This is something that’s more in the “Nice to have” category than the “Must have” category right now, but right now I almost think I’d have an easier time spending $5-600 for a new subnotebook than I would spending $70 on an overpriced Apple keyboard for the iPad.
  • If I do buy a new portable computer around now, it would make an interesting bit of symmetry.  I happened to buy my current notebook (a 15″ Dell Inspiron 6000) at just around the same time I went on my last cruise on the Star Princess back in 2005.  After six years, I’d say it’s probably a good time for an upgrade and another cruise.  Don’t you agree?
  • In the time I’ve spent writing this, most of the roads I can see from my desk here have now been plowed.  Good news for drivers, not so good news for people hoping for an excuse to skip work tomorrow.The overpasses seem to be pretty icy still though.
  • I should probably wrap this up before it turns into another Fun with Insomnia post.  If I had a bedtime I’m pretty sure I’d be up past it now.
4 Comments »

  1. Your favorite bro-in-law who works in Bellevue happens to enjoy MOD Pizza. Maybe you can stuff the ballot box in his favor!

    Comment by Terence Keenan — February 25, 2011 @ 9:23 am

  2. Damn. I guess I can’t compete with favorite bros-in-law. :)

    Comment by Vincent — February 28, 2011 @ 9:36 am

    • I never said that, still trying to figure this out. I think it’s probably going to end up being a caption contest judged by a neutral third party.

      Comment by Brian Lutz — February 28, 2011 @ 9:41 am

  3. I thought that looked like snow down there, but I couldn’t be sure.

    Comment by Stephen B — March 22, 2011 @ 10:37 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

