The Sledgehammer – Version 2.0

June 6, 2011

In Only 14 Years, This Blog Will Be Old Enough to Vote.

Filed under: Site Stuff — Brian Lutz @ 2:30 am

To be perfectly honest, when I started this blog back in 2007, I figured it would put up, maintain for a while, get bored of it and move on, presumably to start up yet another Blog at some point in the indeterminate future.  Today marks the four year anniversary of this site, and although as of late I have slowed down somewhat in terms of the number of posts I put up, I’ve managed to stick with it for this long, and even though daily traffic has been down over the past few months, I don’t have any plans to quit anytine soon.  I think I’ve already dismissed any ill-conceived notions I might have had at some point of ever being able to make money by blogging  (at least on this Blog, I’ve got some ideas I’d like to try at some point that would most likely require a different format than the one I’ve got here) but to a large extent, I’m writing this as much for myself as I am for any audience out there that might be reading this.  I find it can be quite useful to be able to go back and reread old posts, both for reference on things and to just see what I was doing at any one particular point in time.  Fortunately, for the most part the stuff on here is at least gramatically correct enough that I don’t cringe whenever I try to read it (unlike certain old websites that I wrote back in my young and/or foolish days,) and even if I do find typos at least I can usually manage to make a quick sneaky edit (but you didn’t hear that from me, OK?)

Anyway, once again I’d like to thank everyone here for continuing to read this stuff (assuming that there are people out there who don’t flee in panic after the first click, I think I might have a few of those still) and although these days I can never seem to tell what direction the stuff on this site is going to end up going (even as I’m writing it sometimes) I hope that at least someone finds this stuff interesting.  Even if that one person happens to be a distant relative of mine reading this fifty years from now.  On the off chance that I’ve still got this thing going at that point, at least.  As usual, I’m putting up the very nearly semiannual statistical overview , which is found below.

  • Total Posts(all time, including this one):  505
  • Total Comments (all time):  745
  • Total  Page Views (all time):  190,305
  • Total Page Views since 1/1/2011:  21,513
  • Average Visitors Per Day (so far this year):  138

Top 10 Most Read Posts (since 1/1/2011):

Sampling the Whitman’s Sampler: A Guide to America’s Favorite Box of Enigmatic Chocolates   2,285
Retail Wasteland – A Tour of the Totem Lake Mall   2,120
The Redmond Costco Moves Forward (Updated 9/9/09)   738
Classical Gas – Abandoned Route 66 Gas Stations   683
Malls of the Seattle Area: A Tour of the Factoria Mall   645
A Brief Tour of the Bellevue Galleria, Bungie’s Future Home   603
A Tour of Crossroads Bellevue – Part 1: The Mall   583
My Very Nearly Award-Winning Chili Recipe, and Other Deep Dark Secrets   418
Malls of the Seattle Area: A Tour of The Everett Mall   397
Off the Beaten Path: The World’s First KFC in Murray Utah   373

Top 10 Most Read Posts (All Time):

Retail Wasteland – A Tour of the Totem Lake Mall   23,443
Classical Gas – Abandoned Route 66 Gas Stations   8,957
Malls of the Seattle Area: A Tour of the Factoria Mall   8,716
Sampling the Whitman’s Sampler: A Guide to America’s Favorite Box of Enigmatic Chocolates   7,819
A Tour of Crossroads Bellevue – Part 1: The Mall   6,007
The Redmond Costco Moves Forward (Updated 9/9/09)   5,463
My Very Nearly Award-Winning Chili Recipe, and Other Deep Dark Secrets   4,512
Malls of the Seattle Area: A Tour of The Everett Mall   4,011
A Brief Tour of the Bellevue Galleria, Bungie’s Future Home   2,782
The Beginning and the End of the Old Bellevue Safeway   2,636
1 Comment »

  1. Congratulations on hitting your four year mark! I see that one post is way out in front of all the others. I think it’s interesting to see which one really hits the jackpot like that. I’ve only had my blog 6 months but there’s one post that is way out ahead of all the others traffic wise. I have no idea why and I suppose I could easily drive myself crazy trying to figure out what to write about that people want to read or worrying about traffic, but it does get addicting.

    Comment by Linda — June 6, 2011 @ 8:45 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

