The Sledgehammer – Version 2.0

September 3, 2011

Fun With Waking Up Way Too Early in the Morning

Filed under: Fun With Insomnia — Brian Lutz @ 10:08 am

As anyone who is familiar with this Blog knows, I’m a bit of a hardcore night owl, and as such have a tendency to do a lot of my writing at semi-ridiculous hours of the night.  I’m pretty sure if you went and averaged out the post times on the last, oh half zillion Blog posts or so, you’d probably find yourself somewhere in the neighborhood of 1am or so.  As a result of this, I tend to prefer to keep my mornings somewhere in the realm of theoretical concepts.  I hear sunrises can be quite lovely (and the time a few weeks ago when I somewhat annoyingly got awakened by one of the things blasting through my window would seem to suggest that there’s something to that) but fortunately, there are guys out there who are far more motivated than myself to go out and take pictures of the things so I don’t have to worry about going out and experiencing the wonders of nature for myself.  Sunsets I can manage every once in a while, although my apartment is facing the wrong way for one of those.

Of course, every once in a while, even I have to figure out how to actually wake up at what I would consider to be semi-ridiculous hours of the morning.  And for the past two mornings, I have been doing just that.  Recently, my job responsibilities have shifted to supporting a different team from the one I have been working on for the past ten months, and as a result, instead of working with people in the local office, I’m now working primarily on stuff that comes from the team over in France.  To make a long story short, it means I had to be on a 7am conference call yesterday morning, which translates to about a 6:45 wake up time (at least I can take the calls at home so I don’t need to worry about heading to the office at ridiculous hours.)  Trying to decipher technobabble with a French accent coming through a telephone line is something I have a bit of a tricky time with when I’m wide awake on a good day.  Try doing that on about five-and-a-half hours of sleep, and it gets to be tres difficulte (or whatever that term is supposed to be, I’m writing this with no Internet available at the moment to go look it up.  I’m hoping I don’t have to deal with the early morning calls too often, but I suspect I might have to get used to them.  At least when I start work that early I usually get to leave early too.

But none of that explains what the heck I was doing waking up at 5:30 this morning, an hour even most sane people tend to put in the ridiculous category.  Granted, that one’s pretty easy to explain by itself, as I’m currently writing this on an airplane about halfway between Seattle and Oakland, with an eventual destination of Orange County and Disneyland for the next three days.  Breakfast this morning consists of airline peanuts and pretzels, the breakfast of champions (who didn’t have time for breakast anyway.) and I’m posting this on a quick layover in Oakland (voted best place in the Bay Area to get mugged, three years running!)  The multiple trips that I’m taking down to the Los Angeles area by air and by sea, I’ve decided to make the (somewhat expensive) plunge and get an annual pass to Disneyland, which means I’ll probably need to find excuses to sneak in at least another weekend trip or two down there over the course of the next year (and if the Winter in seattle sucks again this year the excuse will probably be welcome.  And as much as I try to avoid the really crowded times of the year, it looks like I’ll probably need to make a trip down there next Summer once the big renovations to California Adventure are completed.  The annual passes certainly aren’t cheap (especially the premium one I got with no blackout dates and included parking) but it ends up being cheaper in the long run than buying 3-day Parkhopper passes each time if you’re going for multiple trips.

So in other words, expect to get really sick of me talking about Disneyland soon.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

