The Sledgehammer – Version 2.0

November 3, 2011

I Wasn’t Planning on Going Gentle into that Good Night Anyway

Filed under: Random Stuff — Brian Lutz @ 2:27 am

Well, October has come and gone, and in spite of the usual Halloween festivities, it certainly didn’t make a whole lot of noise on the way out.  If you think about it, aside from the whole Halloween thing (which I’ve never been big on, although I did manage ro rig up a field-expedient chef costume out of the chef’s jacket I got on the cruise earlier this year) and the baseball postseason, there really isn’t a whole lot of substance to October, mostly it just ends up feeling like a bunch of generic Autumn.  Then again, after a somewhat hectic September that I spent much of traveling, and with the Holidays starting to show up on the horizon, a quiet month every so often isn’t necessarily a bad thing. 

Of course, with October gone, next comes November, which is one of those months I’ve never quite figured out for one reason or another.  On one hand, it’s got Thanksgiving, which is always one of my favorite times of the year.  On the other hand, it always seems to bring crummy weather and plenty of rain along with it, and usually we get at least one or two big windstorms in November (although surprisingly, most of the ones that have been big enough to warrant names have actually avoided November for some reason.)  Over the years I’ve mostly just dealt with whatever weather happens to show up as it came, but over the last year I’ve been walking to work daily (next week will be the 1-year anniversary date of when I was hired at Motricity, which will actually be the first time in well over a decade that I’ve worked in one place for more than 1 year consecutively,) and when you do that, you have a tendency to notice the weather a lot more than you might otherwise, especially when it’s blowing cold rain in your face.  Mostly I just have to remind myself that even in the rain it still beats having to slog through rush-hour traffic twice a day, and that (aside from the somewhat ridiculous cost of parking my car in the garage underneath my apartment building) I’m not paying anything to commute to work.  And if the whole thing gets too terrible I can always just work from home, right?  The only problem with that excuse is that it tends not to sound particularly convincing when I live all of three blocks from the office.

Then again, the weather isn’t the only factor I’ve got to deal with at this time of year.  This weekend, Daylight Savings Time will end by adding an hour back to the clock.  For most people, the end of Daylight Savings Time is welcomed for the extra hour of sleep (and/or extra hour of staying up way too late playing video games,) but to be honest, I’ve never been a big fan of it myself, mostly because it means that I’m going to be spending the next four months walking home from work in the dark.  This in and of itself doesn’t really cause any sort of unusual difficulty (the sidewalks between the office and my apartment are pretty well-lit,) but the early sunsets and walks home in the dark do serve as one of those little things  that reminds you that you’re currently residing in the dead of Winter, and there’s not much you can do about it besides ride it out.  Or flee to somewhere sunny and tropical, but that rarely seems to be an option these days.

And yet, somehow we all manage to survive four (or five, give or take a month or so) months of this crud, and eventually Spring comes back around, at which point we all conveniently forget about the whole thing for another six or seven months until it all happens again.  Just like we’ve all been doing for years now.  And most of us (well, those of us who haven’t got the means to go retire on some sunny Caribbean island just yet) will be going through this one for a while.  But it’s not really all that bad if you think about it.  After all, as the old saying says, when life hands you lemons, build a snow fort and throw ’em at unsuspecting pedestrians, right? 

Wait, you mean it doesn’t say that?  Dang, there goes my plans for next month.

1 Comment »

  1. I’m hiring for my team in beautiful and sunny Orange County, California right now ;-) I haven’t regretted the move for a moment. It was 80 degrees yesterday, we’re close to Disneyland, and we’re working on cool stuff. Hard to complain.

    Comment by sharding — November 3, 2011 @ 11:15 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

