The Sledgehammer – Version 2.0

January 27, 2012

Fun with Insomnia: Not Quite Getting Away From It All

Filed under: Fun With Insomnia, travel — Brian Lutz @ 4:47 am

For some odd reason, I don’t think I have actually been writing a whole lot of these Fun With Insomnia posts lately, and I’m not sure if that’s supposed to be a good thing or not. Either I am actually getting most of the sleep that I should be getting, or I am just failing to make appropriate use of the time I spend lying awake in bed. I actually think that a lot of these posts that I have written recently have been travel related, mostly written from airplanes, trains, boats or other big moving things that I seem spectacularly incapable of sleeping on. And sure enough, once again I am writing this from an airplane on a cross country flight, although by the time it actually gets posted it will be coming from some airport (most likely Houston, where I have a connecting flight) since there isn’t any Wifi on the plane. Not sure how people managed to survive cross-country flights under these conditions, to be honest. Interestingly enough, this particular plane has DirecTV installed in each seat so I can watch television to pass the time, but given the fact that it’s somewhere around 1am right now Seattle time, most channels are deep into infomercial territory. I did find a random Italian soccer game to watch for a bit, but the satellite signal was a bit flaky, and I got a bit sick of the skips and stutters in the picture and sound. So now I’m just writing this and trying to figure out how to make it through the two-and-a-half remaining hours of flight time on this plane.

Owing to the previously discussed unexpected change to my employment situation, I actually considered bumping up my flight a couple of days and spending a couple of extra days in Florida prior to boarding the ship tomorrow, but ultimately I decided against it, mostly owing to the high cost of the airline change fees. To be honest, it was probably a good thing that I did, because I ended up having a couple of phone screens for potential jobs to deal with in that time. Besides, I am actually traveling with people this time around, so it was probably best to just stick to the original arrangements. I’m still thinking the return flight is looking a little iffy, but at least if we miss it I’ll have some company, right?

Anyway, from here in Houston it should just be another couple of hours of flight time to get to Miami, at which point I should be my usual nice and loopy self (I don’t know why, but I don’t think I’ve ever been down there without being somewhere around 36 hours of no sleep…). We board the ship tomorrow, and from there I should have some Internet, but very limited, so I may or may not post something along the way depending on how motivated I’m feeling about it at that point.

1 Comment »

  1. I know I’ve mentioned it before, but now that you’re actively looking for another job, if you are interested in moving to sunny So. Cal, we’re hiring. http://a2z.com/all-locations/orange-county/ :-)

    Comment by sharding — January 27, 2012 @ 11:53 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

