The Sledgehammer – Version 2.0

June 27, 2012

Another Doggy Evening

Filed under: Random Stuff — Brian Lutz @ 10:15 pm

Officially, Summer has been on for about four days as of the time this is being written.  Of those three days, two of them have featured weather straight out of the March playbook, with temperatures peaking in the mid fifties and heavy rainfall.  Meanwhile, my parents (and a couple of my siblings) are down in Arizona visiting my Grandmother, where the high temperature managed to “only” get up to 98 today, and later this week should be approaching 107.  Sure I tend to complain about the weather around here every so often (hence my self-imposed limit of one post per month complaining about the weather) but I’m pretty sure I’d melt in weather like that, especially for months at a time.  About the hottest I can ever remember being was a few years ago when me and my brothers went to the American Le Mans race at Miller Motorsports Park in the middle of July.  On that particular day, the temperature hit a scorching 106 degrees at the track, and our seats spent most of the afternoon in direct sunlight.  Most of us were able to guzzle water and make through reasonably unscathed, but my brother’s then current girlfriend ended up needing treatment for heatstroke.  Given the chance, I don’t think I’d be in too much of a hurry to spend a day out in the desert in the middle of July, cool cars or otherwise.

In the meantime, I’ve been taking care of Imola and Minardi again this past weekend while my parents were out of town.  These days I don’t do this as much as I used to, but it doesn’t exactly seem like they’ve been on their best behavior this time around.  Then again, I’m not sure that what constitutes their best behavior is really all that great in the first place, so for all I know this might be their best behavior after all, and it’s still pretty bad.  That’s not to say they’ve been unusually difficult or anything (well, aside from deciding that 6:30 on a Sunday is a perfectly good time to wake up,) although as usual they do seem to enjoy barking and trying to grab food off the counter.  Every once in a while when I’m dogsitting I start to get the idea that getting a dog of my own might not be such a bad thing.  This hasn’t been one of these times.  Then again, working in a dog-friendly office at Amazon means that I do get to see a fair number of dogs during the day while I’m at work, and some of those seem like they’d make good dogs for me  (in particular, some of the Welsh Corgis in the office seem like they’d be fun to have around.)  I’ve also got a pretty good idea that taking Imola and Minardi to the office would most likely result in disaster, especially with my workspace being located right next to the kitchen on our floor of the building.  Needless to say, I don’t expect to be trying it out anytime soon.

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

