The Sledgehammer – Version 2.0

June 6, 2013

In Dog Years, This Blog Would Be Middle Aged By Now

Filed under: Site Stuff — Brian Lutz @ 10:34 pm

As of today, this Blog is now officially six years old, which, in Internet time, makes it practically ancient by now.  And although I haven’t got quite as much time as I would like to devote to the Blog these days, I’m still here, and still posting stuff.  Granted, I seem to find myself writing for a smaller audience than I used to these days (I think the spin doctors call that a case of one’s appeal getting more selective) but even so, I use this Blog as primarily for the purpose of acting as something of a personal journal, although I do find it helps to write with an audience in mind when I do so.  Over the years, I’ve found that having a reasonably large archive of old Blog posts to look back at can be quite useful.  Even if I have had some trouble expanding my audience for this Blog in the past couple of years much beyond what it is right now (which isn’t all that big, all things considered,) it’s the documentary function that serves as my prime motivation for continuing with it.

Anyway, as I’ve noted before, I use this occasion each year as something of a checkpoint, and I put together a statistical overview post of the type you see here.  I’ve been doing these twice a year now over the lifespan of the Blog, using them as a way of keeping track of the ebb and flow of the Blog’s visitors, and also just because I’ve always had an interest in tracking useless data for some odd reason.  I long ago abandoned any pretense of being able to make any money off this Blog (although that doesn’t mean I wouldn’t try on another one at some point,) but I do still try to make an effort to keep the posts coming on at least a somewhat consistent basis here.

As I always say in these posts, thanks once again for your continued visits to this Blog, and if there’s anything in particular you would like to see more of here, don’t hesitate to let me know.  In the meantime, that NASCAR post I mentioned last week should be coming soon, most likely tomorrow.

-Brian

  • Total Posts(all time, including this one):  606
  • Total Posts (So far in 2013): 21
  • Total Comments (all time):  907
  • Total  Page Views (all time): 269,988
  • Total Page Views (So far in 2013): 16,142
  • Total Page Views in 2012: 42,260
  • Total Page Views in 2011: 42, 742
  • Total Page Views in 2010:  52,228
  • Total Page Views in 2009:  60, 939
  • Total Page Views in 2008: 50, 219
  • Average Visitors Per Day (So far in 2013): 103
  • Total Blog Subscribers: 88

Top posts in the past 365 days:

Sampling the Whitman’s Sampler: A Guide to America’s Favorite Box of Enigmatic Chocolates 7,877
Retail Wasteland – A Tour of the Totem Lake Mall 3,150
Malls of the Seattle Area: A Tour of the Factoria Mall 1,502
An Example to Others: A Short Story 1,385
A Tour of Crossroads Bellevue – Part 1: The Mall 1,056
Classical Gas – Abandoned Route 66 Gas Stations 998
The Redmond Costco Moves Forward (Updated 9/9/09) 974
Ya Wanna’ Buy a Watch? A Visit to St. Maarten 884
A Not-So-Standard Chevron Station (Updated) 796
A Brief Tour of the Bellevue Galleria, Bungie’s Future Home 697

Total Homepage views (Last 365 Days): 6,179

Top posts (all time):

Retail Wasteland – A Tour of the Totem Lake Mall 29,398
Sampling the Whitman’s Sampler: A Guide to America’s Favorite Box of Enigmatic Chocolates 21,914
Malls of the Seattle Area: A Tour of the Factoria Mall 11,574
Classical Gas – Abandoned Route 66 Gas Stations 11,393
A Tour of Crossroads Bellevue – Part 1: The Mall 7,967
The Redmond Costco Moves Forward (Updated 9/9/09) 7,656
My Very Nearly Award-Winning Chili Recipe, and Other Deep Dark Secrets 6,193
Malls of the Seattle Area: A Tour of The Everett Mall 5,381
A Brief Tour of the Bellevue Galleria, Bungie’s Future Home 4,626
The Beginning and the End of the Old Bellevue Safeway 3,539

Total Homepage views (All Time): 57,526

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

